April 29, 2010

Sandy makes her choice

It must have been a tough decision for her to make but she made it. Sandra Bullock has decided to file for divorce from her husband, Jesse James

Now this is not a gossip blog but I think that we can take a few lessons from this sad story. 
1) Love is not always enough. A divorce or any kind of break up does not mean that you never care for the person and never will again. You can absolutely love that person but it just isn't what's right for the two of you anymore. It's a sad situation to find yourself in.

2) The end of a relationship is hard to admit to. This only applies to a real heartbreaker of a relationship. If you didn't care then it doesn't matter. But Sandra took her time in telling the world. Of course her privacy came first but I suspect that part of the reason she didn't say anything for a while was due to the fact that this really hit her hard. I really don't wanna use a pun here but here we go...she was honestly blindsided by all this. I really think she didn't see this coming. this brings me to number 3.

3) Women (and men) don't always see it coming. Sure there are some times when you just know, you suspect but you dare not say it out loud. You don't want it to be true but you know it is. But with some it's so out of your line of sight that you just don't see it until it's right in front of you and can't be avoided. Maybe something similar to a deer in front of a car. It jumps out at you and you can't turn and you just crash into it (morbid I know. Don't call the ASPCA on me).

4) It can happen to anyone. It happened to my parents and it happens to famous people all the time. No one is immune.

April 28, 2010

Why are boys so stupid?

Yes I am asking that as a serious question. Why? In between the stories of politicians and celebrities cheating on their wives and beating up their girlfriends, I also have to deal with guy-drama everyday. Whether it comes from the stories my friends tell me or I experience it for myself, it's always there, that one question. I'm not saying that all guys are stupid. I just want to know why I always come across the dumb ones, or the creepers or the complete psychopaths (this guy I'll label BW). Now I shall list my experiences with these guys and you just read along. Comment if you like.

Allie's Weird Experiences with Guys:
1) The infamous BW. A friend of mine met a guy. Normal enough. Then he started asking repeatedly "Can I have your number?" Her answer every time was "No." Unfortunately I don't think she was very forceful with her tone because he didn't stop and still hasn't. Their first encounter was last semester (around November i think). It's the end of April...it's been a while. Now all three of us are in an organization together. It's hard to avoid him.

2) Another friend met a guy. Again quite normal. This guy liked her and she liked him back. Still normal. Then he says "I like you too much so we have to break up." Ummmmmmmm. Doesn't it usually go the other way?

3) I met a guy. I liked him. I have no idea if he likes me the way I like him. We talk because we are after all friends first. Then I notice he's started to act really strange. I wave he doesn't. I say "hey what's up?" He doesn't respond. I comment on facebook, but all I hear are virtual crickets. *sigh* That's what I get for liking a guy huh?

4) Another friend likes a guy. They haven't talked in a while but they still nod whenever they see each other. Last week, I decided to hang out with her. He's sitting a table over. He sees us, moves over a seat . Looks over again and switches sides so that he now has a direct view of her. WHAAA?!!!! If you're gonna do that at least say hi when she does!

5) Yet another friend (shut up I'm popular!) likes a guy. We suspect he likes her too. He won't say anything to her when his friends are around but on facebook chat it's like he's a different person. He's always liking her stuff (then unliking it. IT STILL TELLS HER YOU LIKED IT BUDDY!) and talking to her on fb chat saying ridiculous but funny things. In person he's a clam. Oh boy...

6) A friend of a friend has a stalker. He likes following her everywhere. i don't know if it's a good or bad thing that she's such a good, kind-hearted person. I don't like this...

That's my awesome list of creepers and stupidity. So does anyone have an answer to my question? Here it is again, Why are boys so stupid, and annoying, and creepy and weird?

Anyone?

The Newest Member of the Famous Cheaters Club

Jesse James. Yes the bike guy. He's our newest member hoping to grab a spot on the Wall of Shame Fame, reserved only for the most famous shameful moments. He's pretty much got a lock on the top spot at this point seeing as he allegedly cheated on America's Sweetheart Sandra Bullock. Really Jesse?! You cheated on her?! Why?! There are so many men, good and decent ones too, that would love to be in your shoes, and by that I mean married to one of the most beautiful women in the country. She's funny, smart and sweet. Plus she has an amazing body. I'm a straight girl but I can appreciate the feminine physique, thank you.

I understand the need to diversify once in a while, but that certainly does not mean cheat on her. If you don't wanna be with her all the time then grab some of the boys and head to Vegas for some gambling fun. As long as you don't gamble away the mortgage and the trust funds for the kiddies and keep it IN YOUR PANTS, then I can foresee no problems. C'mon guys, most women don't mind a little weekend getaway with the guys once in a while, when you're stressed. As long as it doesn't turn into an every other day kind of a deal then I'm pretty sure you're fine. Um, just make sure you tell your wife/girlfriend first though. If you just say "Honey I'll be gone for the weekend," I can almost guarantee that she may flip out.

Back to Jesse and Sandy. REALLY JESSE?! What is wrong with you?! What is these days? This is absolutely nuts. Sandy my thoughts are with you. Let's hope this can be worked out. I'm not really an advocate for divorce.

April 27, 2010

Happy 100th!

So this is my 100th post on this lovely blog of mine. It's a milestone for sure. I know I haven't been good about updating but forgive me folks I do happen to be a college freshman and dealing with classes, prelims and french tests (ugh) means that I can't really keep up with this masterpiece (I am so modest). But I promise I'll try to do more to keep this site up to date. So much has happened since I last posted so here comes one of my famous lists.

Allie's Super Awesome Updates:
1) Guess who got a Mac! Yes I folded like any good college student would and forced my mother to buy me a Mac for my birthday earlier this month. Which brings me to number 2

2) Guess who's finally 18! Yup that's right I am finally the big 1-8. It's an amazing feeing...no that's a lie. I feel the same. But now I can go clubbing with friends! (My mom just had a heart attack...metaphorically of course). April babies are awesome.

3) I had some friend drama but THANKFULLY it's been worked out now and we are super awesome buddies again. Honestly I don't know what got into us. It was a bit childish but we've learned from that. Lesson 1- communication is key. Lesson 2- you can't live your life without an awesome redhead to share it with. Lesson 3- A friendship is so much like dating but without the making out and all that other stuff.

4) I got my first exec. board position in college. GO ME! yup you're looking at the words of the Director of Recruitment for a super awesome club on campus. Excited? You should be because I am gonna rock this town.

5) I have no idea what's going on in the political world. This feels unnatural to me. But I get enough campus politics here so I think I'm ok.

6) It's cold...I understand April rain but April snow? not ok

7) I have such awesome professors. My political philosophy professor is truly a great thinker of our time (it's just too bad that I am slacking off right now in his class. I'm writing this during lecture. I am such a bad student.) My classics professor never fails to make me laugh every Tuesday and Thursday.

8) My interactions with guys = super complicated. Boys are stupid.

9) I've managed to not fail out so far

10) I've decided to take Swedish in sophomore year. Why Swedish? Simply because it is truly an awesome language. Have I  not told you I am fully in love with all things Scandinavian? I'll write about that at a later date.

Off to pay attention in lecture now. Wait class is almost over? Oh...whoops