September 30, 2010

For Lauren (but really this is for C.M.)

Hell yes I like pouty lips! Why should I not? I especially love it if those pouty lips say "Eh?" in that ever wonderful Canadian accent. I also love it when the owner of said pouty lips can rock sweats like there's no tomorrow. Gimme a set of duck lips any day. Just make sure they're used properly ;). Dammit pour me some maple syrup over those pancakes with a side of Canadian bacon and play me some Celine Dion while watching the Maple Leafs vs the Canadiens and screaming "Knock 'em out and about" in that gorgeous way only Canadians can. I WANT ME SOME POUTY LIPS!

O Canada!
Our home and native land!
True patriot love in all thy sons command.
With glowing hearts we see thee rise,
The True North strong and free!
From far and wide,
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.
God keep our land glorious and free!
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

September 29, 2010

The Rebel in me

Another of my wonderful lists. You know you love them. This one is all about the things that make me somewhat of a rebel in modern day society. I'm sure you could identify with some of these things

1. I don't like Disney
Disney has single-handedly ruined my teenage and adult life. When I was younger I thought all redheads were actually undercover mermaids...sadly this isn't so. Now I keep expecting a Prince Eric to come along and save me. But then I read Hans Christian Andersen's real story and the horrible truth was revealed to me. DAMN YOU DISNEY!

2. I don't get offended at black jokes
-GASP- what a shocker, a black chick who doesn't mind a racial joke or two. I've been called a "n*gger" etc. but honestly every single time that has happened (I haven't bothered to count) my automatic response is laughter. Why? Because why should I care? It isn't my job to change the minds of racists so then why should I stress about it? As long as there is no violence there is an element of comedy to the whole thing. Sometimes you just can't let these things bring you down. Maybe it's because I'm not American...

3. I'm a black girl who has never liked a black guy
Again this comes as a bit of a shocker to some of my black friends. It's not that I'm racist (as some have claimed) or that I'll never date a black guy, I just haven't come across one I could bring myself to be in a relationship with. Who knows what the future could bring (Hopefully a hot German footballer...oh hai Arne Friedrich!)
C'mon who wouldn't love that?

September 27, 2010

I headbang, therefore I am

Headbanging is a type of dance which involves violently shaking the head in time with music, most commonly rock music and heavy metal music.
                            --courtesy of Wikipedia
I love rock music and heavy metal so it makes sense that I headbang right? Well I do and I'm proud of my headbanging status. I'm married to it. Headbang away!!!!! Hopefully I'll be headbanging to Rammstein very very soon.




Guilty Pleasure Song of the Week + a Rant

I think I'll make this a regular series on here. It seems to be quite popular with my friends.
Here we go.
Guys, mixed signals are supposed to be exclusively the domain of girls. Our time honored tradition of cat and mouse doesn't work if we are both playing the mouse. Traditionally, girls have played hard to get while guys have chased. WE LIKE THE STATUS QUO so please don't change it on us. So when a guy's face "lights up like a Christmas tree" upon seeing you then says "Wow, you look amazing in that dress" while smiling like the freaking Cheshire Cat, it confuses the shizz out of you if you've spent three months thinking he doesn't give two cents about you. I'm speaking from personal (painful) experience. Maybe I'm just overreacting (something else we girls can do quite well if trained properly) but I really think that Generation Y guys should understand that the rules are the rules for a reason...they work (generally speaking), and when you don't follow them confusion abounds. Everyone expects girls to be coy but when guys decide it's time to play shy, it's just plain confusing. This is one time I'll promote the benefits of stereotypes.

And now why you bothered reading all of the above. The Guilty Pleasure Song of the Week...

September 16, 2010

Guilty Pleasure Song of the Week + a Rant

Before I introduce my guilty pleasure song of the week I have a rant to deliver. I've attended my fair share of college frat parties as well as house parties and I usually have fun but I have one pet peeve. I'm not sure if this is just at my college but I feel like college boys all dance the same. No idea what I'm talking about?

The Scenario: Hot and sweaty dance floor at a mid-tier frat house. The party's banging and everyone is having a pretty damn good time. You and your best friend are dancing together (it's all about the buddy system) when a guy and his friend come over to join you. You do a quick analysis, you approve and send his friend over to your friend (after completing a grenade check of course). You then commence with said proposed dancing...except it's not so much dancing as it is the two of you swaying side to side in time with the beat.

The Problem: WHERE IS THE CREATIVITY FELLAS?! No I'm not talking about singing the lyrics into my ear (that's actually quite creepy and sometimes painful). Some variety once in a while would be awesome. Utilize those arms (above the waistline please) and make it worth our while.

And now my guilty pleasure of the week. Enjoy.

September 15, 2010

It'll make you go blind too...






Last night, Christine O'Donnell won the GOP primary in Delaware to become the Republican party's nominee for the senate seat in Delaware during the upcoming fall elections. So, meet Christine...

September 8, 2010

My Cockamamie Plan

I have decided to go through with what I discussed in my previous post Odd Fascinations.
My plan (rough draft)
Step 1-Discuss race relations with both blacks and whites (as well as people representing various races) and ask both moderates, liberals, and those considered 'radical' by the mainstream why they believe racism exists.
Step 2-Try to locate people who could be classified as 'racist' and ask why they feel this way and how they have been able to hold on to their feelings during a time when racism is such a huge taboo.
Step 3- Try to determine the deciding factors of racism in America.

The Challenges
1) My skin color = HUGE problem
2) the fact that I'm an immigrant may or may not go over so well
3) People who are opposed to a certain race may not find it in their best interests to talk to a curious college sophomore, just because "I feel like finding out."
4) My mom. She already thinks I'm nuts. I'm sure after she finds out about this she'll have me committed, straitjacket and all. That's what I get for having a nurse for a mother.

The Disclaimer
This isn't a study or an experiment. I am just so damn curious and I feel like I can't rely on the mainstream media to tell me on its own. This is purely for the heck of it, as well as to finally and absolutely extinguish the curiosity within me. I will in no way put myself in harm's way. I'm a scaredy-cat to begin with (The other night as I was walking home by myself, I jumped when I saw my shadow. Seriously, I did!) so I won't be going to extreme lengths like reporters in Afghanistan...or in Alabama in the 1960s. I haven't fully lost it...yet.

September 4, 2010

Back with a BANG!

I know I haven't updated this in over a month. I would like to say that was because I was off having tons of fun, but alas this is not the case indeed. I just had no idea what to write about. But now, finally, I have a topic.

I am a proud New Yorker. I have lived in this beautiful city for over 8 years. I arrived here the summer after the September 11th attacks. During my time here I have found a city full of life and culture and peace. I honestly could not think of living anywhere else in the United States. I absolutely positively LOVE this city. Unfortunately a dark cloud has appeared on the horizon and has begun to cast it's ugly shadow over NYC. Ok enough with the melodrama. I'm referring to the controversy surrounding the proposed mosque near Ground Zero.

My opinion- last time I checked this country was built on religious freedom. I am a supporter of the Constitution and under that great document I believe that the mosque should be allowed to be built

The opposition's opinion- Building a mosque so close to the site of a tragedy that was caused by Muslims is insensitive and will promote the cause of extremist Muslims. It would be seen by terrorists as a victory of sorts (a proxy victory if you will).

But as I stated before i believe that this mosque has the right to be built at the site and I think that this matter has been blown far out of proportion.
First of all, this was never a political matter but an issue of zoning and city laws. Apparently some people forget that states and cities operate independently, within the boundaries set up by the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, and can therefore conduct local business without constant interference by the federal government.
But given all of this the more important second point is mid-term elections. This fall, millions of Americans will be voting on their new representatives in Congress and some of those up for election or reelection are looking to "save face" with their constituents. Bringing up thoughts of 9/11 and planting the seeds of fear are a damned good way to win votes under the premise "Sen. Blahblahblah will stop the terrorists from killing more innocent Americans." The truth is always buried or skewed during times like this. It's unfortunate but it is a fact of life.

September 2, 2010

Odd Fascinations

I am aware of my perceived oddness (as seen through the eyes of others) and I, unlike too many others, embrace my oddities with very little fear of the consequences of doing so.
For instance, I am enthralled with the neo-Nazi and skinhead movements, particularly in the United States and Russia. I am fascinated with finding out the exact reasons behind the growth of racist elements in the societies of both of these countries.
In the United States it is easy to pawn off such growth as the leftovers of the cruel times of slavery but I think that there is a lot more to the hold of Nazi culture over some Americans. I'm even considering writing a paper (purely for my own curiosity rather than for public knowledge) about the circumstances in which racism thrives. I would also love to get an in-depth view on racists by actually talking to one or a few of them. This part would be the most difficult of course considering I am black and just recently found out that I have strong Jewish ancestry. That's right folks! I'm a Black Jew, and that wouldn't go over very well with neo-Nazis and skinheads at all.

Maybe I should treat this like salsa, that is by starting off mild and then gradually working my way up to the spiciest kind. Sooo all I have to do now is find a "mild" racist. Maybe one that only dislikes Hispanics. Who's up for a road trip to Arizona?!
Brain Blast: Maybe I should start with reverse racism. I have a lot more access to blacks who dislike whites than the other way around (which, if you know me, is very ironic considering that I'm the "whitest" black girl you will ever know).
Hang on folks, this could be very interesting. I'll keep you updated if I actually go through with this cockamamie plan.