December 31, 2010

Movies I am looking forward to in 2011

1. The Green Lantern

This is definitely the movie I am most excited for. Ryan Reynolds at his peak WOOT!

2. Cowboys & Aliens

The first time I saw this trailer was at the midnight showing of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1. The entire theater started laughing when we saw the name at the end but up until that moment we were riveted. It seems a little silly, but I'm still gonna watch it. Aliens + Daniel Craig? Hell yes!

3. Thor

A hot guy with an accent and a great body? Oh my! I'll have him to go thanks.You know my history with Scandinavians...also the actor who plays Thor is none other than Chris Hemsworth aka older brother of Miley's ex-boyfriend Liam which means HE'S AUSSIE! *swoon*. Hmmm I also have a history with guys named Chris...

4.Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
Johnny Depp. nuff said.

5.Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
I put this movie at the end because I have mixed feelings about it. On one hand: HARRY POTTER YAY! But then this is the end of the franchise. I grew up along with the characters in the books and the movies and to be forced to admit that it's coming to an end is hard for me. All the same, I shall be there at midnight with my ticket at the ready. I'll miss you old chap.

December 25, 2010

Merry Christmas/Feliz Navidad/Buon Natale/Glædelig jul/Frohe Weihnachten/Joyeux Noel



I already told you I was Basshunter obsessed. I hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas.
I'll be leaving soon to head over to New Jersey to consume a most wondrous feast. I love Christmas :)

Happee Berfday Jesus.

Ivy League doesn't necessarily mean good quality

I've already talked about this in some of my previous "rants" but I feel like I still need to clarify a few things. I am not a man-hater or a man-eater for that matter (although I do love Nelly Furtado's song called "Maneater") but quite frankly I am fed-up with the quality of men I have had the misfortune of running across. My friends back home in the civilization known as New York City think that I have quite the selection of desirable future spouses up here in Nowhere's Land. Unfortunately for me, that is completely and utterly FALSE!

During my time here in chilly Ithaca, I have learned so much about the opposite sex and yet I feel like all of what I have learned is completely useless. The biggest problem plaguing our fair campus is the "Hook-up Culture." For the few non-college age folks who read this blog, "hooking up" refers to making out or having sex with someone NSA (no strings attached). This means that relationships aren't exactly a top priority around here. Guys are mostly interested in a "Wham.Bam.Thank you Ma'am" approach towards girls. Essentially men are only interested in the physical aspect of relationships. Sex and not much else. It's frustrating!!! I mean it's not like I walked in here expecting to find the love of my life right off the bat but the summer before coming to college older folks kept telling me "Awww college. That's where I met my husband/wife/girlfriend/boyfriend." So naturally I expected college to be filled with guys with whom I could possibly make some kind of connection with. So far my greatest guy related connections have been with my Best Guy Friend For Life (BGFF) Josh...who is proudly gay. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely LOVE Josh. He's honest and gets my complete craziness. If I were religious I would be constantly thanking God for him. And then there's Dan but he's a friend. Summary: No boy toys for Allie.

Back to the straighter end of things. In my year and a half at Cornell, I have learned not to trust men and that is superbly bad because I have enough trust issues as it is. So whenever I see a couple happily strolling around campus holding hands it leaves me wondering "How did they do it?" It's quite a mystery to me and my friends. A mystery we do still think is worth deciphering.

December 2, 2010

Yes I am currently BassHunter obsessed



If only my Saturday's were like this...

Dear Rachel,

I love that you read (stalk) my blog so much. I promise I'll try to update my blog faithfully because I know that you'll read (and understand) my silliness. Much love for ya my fellow Oreo! I have so much to learn from you yet.

Love, Allie.
PS Good luck with finals.

What do ya do when you just hate a class?

Especially if you can't get out of it. Grin and bear it maybe? All I know is that this semester French has been a constant thorn in my side. I wish I had taken German, maybe I would be far more excited about learning another language if it were one that I've actually liked for a while. If only I had listened to m instincts, maybe I wouldn't be in this pickle. -Siggghhhh- I hate this class but I have one more day of this hell (tomorrow is the last day of classes for the semester) and then a final to get through. It's not just me complaining. You know it's bad when the ENTIRE class has issues with the course. We all have bonded over our mutual hatred of the class. We've had French "reunions" just to sit and vent about how horrible this class is. Whole lunches have been dedicated to the sport we call "French bashing." Enough is enough. With that said, tomorrow morning I shall gladly bid French 1230 "Adieu."

December 1, 2010

No Rant but an Awesome Guilty Pleasure

City Girls Gone Wild

What's a girl to do when she's been hunkered down for weeks with nothing but exams and textbooks to keep her company? Oh it's quite simple go home and go wild with your best friends. That's exactly what I did this past week during my Thanksgiving break (when I say "break" i mean a brief respite from the hell that is Cornell). First order of business, GET HOME! Unfortunately for me this meant taking the bus back to civilization aka New York City.

A bus ride that normally takes 7-8 hours max, turned into a 9 hour hell-ride. My bus drivers were not as friendly as I remembered them -sigh- ah well at least they were doing their jobs and getting me home right? I left campus at 12pm in the afternoon, skipping my only class of the day (Apparently I missed a rather excellent lecture. Mah bad PKatz) and walked through my front door at 9:17pm exactly. Like I said that was roughly 9 hours from campus to my front door. It took me approximately 10 seconds to walk up the stairs to my room and tear off my travel clothes (long sleeve shirt, jeans and sneakers) and switch into comfy PJs (t-shirt with the name of a random college emblazoned across the front and stripey pants...I love stripes). I then proceeded to the kitchen and consumed everything within sight (Steamed salmon with white rice, delicious Caribbean biscuits, cereal...I hadn't eaten since 1 am the night before so yea I was starving). When all was said and done, my cupboards were bare (yay my stomach! It has amazing stretching capabilities). My final act of the night was to collapse into my GIGANTIC Queen sized bed, switch on the TV in my room (aren't I lucky?) and watch a marathon of Mythbusters before falling into an absolutely amazing and restful sleep.

The next day, I ran errands with my mom (buying last minute preparations for the next day's enormous meal) and little else. Napping was at the top of my agenda. It was a successful day.

Thursday- Turkey Day/Comatose Americans Day. Much food was consumed and much laughter was...laughed? Yea well nothing beats seeing the look on my aunt's face when I introduced her to my favorite music genre, HEAVY METAL!!!! WOOT! Hey it's her fault she asked...
The song that I showed her was the following...



Thank you Norway for this little gem, but Sweden is still my favorite ;)

But going back to the going wild part. The day after Thanksgiving, also known as the Day of Recovery and Rest, alternatively called Black Friday (for the shopaholics among us), a couple of friends and I decided to have a sleepover. My best friend of 5 years P. hosted the event at her house, supplying lots of food and refreshments for me and our guy friend A. I should have known that with these two nothing but craziness would happen. We started off the festivities with a trip to our local movie theater to watch Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I (their first time and my second since I went to the midnight premiere. It was still awesome the second time around). We then made a trip to the nearest mall to view some purchasing options (so.many.people!). I didn't buy anything but that didn't stop P. and I from having a fashion photo shoot in the dressing room of Macy's. Fun times, man, fun times. Then we went back to her house to consume delicious Thanksgiving leftovers. What followed was Dutty Wining (youtube Tony Matterhorn's Dutty Wine if you don't get what this means), crazy dance moves and Barney-grinding. Yea that's right Barney-grinding, where you find the nearest stuffed Barney and grind on it...that was P. not me but I was attacked with said Barney. We didn't go to bed until 3 am and every minute was priceless.

Overall, taking a break from classes and chaos was just what I needed. I was stressed out beyond belief and I desperately needed to blow off some steam. Thanks to P. and A. for the good times. I hope to have a repeat very soon.