March 29, 2011

The Official Declaration

I have given up hope. Last month I recounted the story of a girl who liked a guy who has no idea she exists. That girl was me and that guy was named Chris. I no longer think that Chris has no idea who I am because a friend of mine made sure that he knew (more on that later) but I am officially calling it quits.

For background on the story read the original post here

Why am I pulling a Palin and quitting? Well it's all very simple. I may like him but the odds of him even wanting to get to know me is something like 1 in a 1,000,000,000,000,000,000 (I believe that is called a quintillion). Let's think of it in terms of levels or leagues if you will. Christopher is top level...I'm not. I'm not a haute couture wearing, top sorority sister. I'm not in DG or Kappa or Theta (but I do love my sorority and my sisters) and I am not an athlete (used to be) nor am I an heiress (waiting for a rich uncle to kick the bucket Jane Eyre style). All of these "nots" mean one thing, the chances of our paths crossing (outside of dining halls and passing each other on a Collegetown street. And that random class we had together but he never showed up unless there was a quiz) are very small. So small that I have come to the realization that it's just not going to happen. I know some of you who read this will say "Don't give up like that" or something having to do with me not being out of his league yadda yadda but let's face facts people (since I am not in the business of lying to myself) how many of you ever ended up with your crushes? Think about it. How many out of all of those guys/girls you wanted to get to know better ended up working out for you? (that was not a rhetorical question).

After everything is said and done, this may turn out to be nothing more than an exceptionally strong infatuation as my friend Aishani suggests. I don't wanna think that a guy could so easily get me to make such a fool out of myself but it is possible. I just know that I'll continue to like him until who knows when. However, no matter how strong my feelings for him are or will be in the future, I can't in good faith continue to torture myself like this. It's hard watching girls pop up on my news feed after writing on his wall and then realizing that these girls are all Anchor Slam t-shirt wearing-Delta Gammas or soccer playing Kappas. It's hard to realize that the guy you like probably doesnt care because he's got other bitches and hoes lined up around the corner, although I am told that he doesn't get much ass which seems weird to me.

Side note- on the topic of him not getting any ass...WHY THE HELL NOT? There's nothing wrong with him! He's really hot, like REALLY (at least I think so) and he looks good with scruff or without it, though Allie here prefers the scruff (I'm disturbed that I know this) and he's got a great future ahead of him. Sure he seems a bit douchey when you first meet him but nothing ever stopped any girl on this campus in her pursuit of some hot ass (this sounds rather degrading and what not but seriously the hook up culture here is ridiculous. One night stands are alive and well in the Ivy League). To clarify, I was never interested in Chris for purely sexual reasons (but he's hot), I honestly thought he was a good (and hot) guy who I'd love to get to know better even if it was only as a (super hot) friend (did I mention he was hot?). Which brings us back to our main point...

...Even with everything I've just said I know I'll still like him. But I can't allow myself to miss any other possible opportunities with great guys because I am so hung up on this low-probability match-up.

Gong back to something I mentioned earlier in this post, a friend of mine decided she was going to play wing woman for me and sent a lovely Facebook message to Chris. In this message she included my prior blog post about him (linked above) and talked about how great I am as a person (haha). It was a valiant effort on her part but he never responded and probably trashed it thinking that we were just some crazy people pulling a prank on him. LAWLZ right? -sigh- so goes my life
 But one thing has resulted from all of this. Chris definitely knows who I am and he likes to stare...a lot. Recently in a dining hall my friends and I were eating lunch when he walked in with his posse. He sat on the other side of the room from me but I started noticing some staring going on. I may have just been paranoid and oversensitive but it was still a weird few minutes for me.

But yes, I am giving up. It's time to try to move on. I know it'll be a bit difficult for me but I'm trying.

Facebook Depression

Researchers are now saying that Facebook depression can be a real thing
Read the article from Third Age here

All I've got to say about this is it's about time someone noticed this!
I've dealt with Facebook depression symptoms all of Spring Break. I don't mean to make light of depression and what leads up to it. I'm being fairly serious here. It's really hard to sit at home (with the air traffic from JFK annoying the crap out of you) and watch as your friends post pictures of their adventures in Miami, Puerto Rico and Iceland. And trust me those relationship updates can be like a knife to the heart ("Really Annoying Bitch Who Made Your Life A Living Hell in Middle School is now in a relationship with That Really Hot Guy You Really Really Liked in High School").

So while some people might laugh at this article and what it proposes, I assure you that Facebook depression is no laughing matter, as is any form of depression for that matter.

March 28, 2011

Re: Twitter Mania

CAVED AND MADE A TWITTER
A friend of mine saw my last post and challenged me to create a Twitter account and see what it's all about. I still don't fully get it but I've only been active for an hour or so (and in that hour I've tweeted 10 times, followed 65 people/companies, and gained 5 followers. Allie like so far). I might actually like this. Hmmm as if I didn't already have enough to continually distract me.

OH MY GOD WHAT HAVE I BECOME?! I TWEET (therefore I am?)
(slo-mo) NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Correction - now it's 11 tweets
Correction #2 - 12 tweets...

Twitter Mania

News Flash: Twitter mania has officially penetrated Cornell University. Gannett urges everyone to be cautious at this time as the risk for the spread of Twitter mania continues to grow. Symptoms to look out for include: a sudden urge to summarize everything in your life in 140 characters or less, sudden ability to "Follow" by clicking a single button, and knowing the minute details of multiple strangers lives by checking one main screen. If you believe that you are currently suffering from Twitter mania or know of someone who suffers from the symptoms described above please stay indoors to prevent the spread of this disease.

Too late! Everyone I know has a Twitter account now. I don't know what it is about this thing but I have yet to get sucked in by the evil force that is Twitter. I am not a Tweeter (at least not yet) and I won't be until I have something to tweet about (but I do know that the past tense of "Tweet" is "Tweeted" not "Twat" as I've heard some people say). Some of my friends are writers for the school newspaper and sports blogs and such so they have legitimate reasons for creating a Twitter account. I however don't have one. I don't think the world wants to know about my constant issues with the rest of society (and if people are interested then that's what this blog is for).
So the Twitter bug has passed me by for now but I have a feeling that it isn't done with me yet.

Stay tuned for updates on this News Flash and more.

UPDATE: While taking a survey for a Cornell class this question popped up
and then there was this one
If anyone is spending at least 3 hours on Twitter, what the hell are you doing on there?! Please I want to know!

March 17, 2011

A Tale of Two Tickets

One thing I love about Cornell is the absolute diversity of the student body. 122 countries and all 50 states are represented here and as a result multiple viewpoints are a part of the norm here. There are plenty of conservatives on this campus but I have to admit that the conservative way of thinking often gets lost in the sea of liberalism that is so readily embraced here. But today I present to you the tale of two tickets. This tale expresses just how diverse the political spectrum is here at lovely (and surprisingly warm) Cornell.
As with every good tale these days it all begins with facebook. In all of the 12 (yes 12!) event invitations, I received a few days ago, two events caught my eye. One was called "An Evening with Keith Olbermann '79." Keith Olbermann, a well-known Cornell grad and until recently host of Countdown with Keith Olbermann on MSNBC, was coming to Cornell! YAY! Mr. Olbermann was an idol of mine right up until I realized that his show was based only on his undying hatred of Ann Coulter, Rush Limbaugh and Bill O'Reilly. I am not a fan of these people either but I certainly would not make them the centerpiece in my primetime show. Regardless I was excited at the prospect of meeting Herr Olbermann, so I happily clicked the "I'm Attending" button.
The second event was "Karl Rove: Thoughts on 2012." Yes that's right, Karl Rove. For anyone even remotely knowledgeable of American politics has come to know this name as one of the most infamous figures ever to have existed. There is no doubt that Rove is an excellent political strategist. He managed to get George Bush, one of the most hated figures of the 21st century (though the century is still young) elected to the Presidency TWICE. You may hate Karl Rove but you can't deny that the man's got skills and style.
So yesterday my friend Rachel and I packed up from our brief lunch and headed over to the ticket office in Willard Straight Hall. Once there we dutifully collected our two tickets each; one for Karl Rove and one for Keith Olbermann. Both events within a week of each other, hosted by different clubs on campus and each with a decidedly different goal and topic. The tale that is to be told with the help of these two tickets is sure to be extraordinary. And with that I place my tickets in my top drawer, ready for the respective dates printed clearly at the top of each.

I can't help thinking, "I'm so damn glad I didn't have to pay for these."
Until next time.

March 15, 2011

Dating Issues- Life as an Oreo

Being an Oreo in the USA is not an easy task.
For those not familiar with the term Oreo, I turn to our friends at urban dictionary to educate you.

Oreo- A black person who is said to "act white" because of the way they dress, talk, or act. Someone who does not play in to "acting black" and believes that there is no way to "act black". Someone who typically hangs out with whites, or gets along well with whites.

Sometimes blacks take being called an oreo as an offense, but others might take it as being called a "classy black", someone who did not grow up in the projects so has no particular reason to be someone they aren't in order to fit in well with the black community.
Example - Caleb is such an oreo. He's always going up north to snowboard and lives up in rich country with the white folks. 
Thank you urban dictionary. 
While some people may take Oreo to be derogatory, I am not the type that is easily offended therefore I really don't care. As an Oreo blogger, I feel obligated to detail the trials and tribulations of my fellow Oreos and so I officially christen the "Oreo Series" *cracks open champagne bottle* (that champagne is for drinking my friends). Now settle back and learn about the trials and tribulations of an Oreo in the USA. 
First off, it's not easy being an Oreo, especially for me since I'm as Oreo as they come. Not only do I "act white" and "speak white" I also have a strong liking for white meat over dark meat, if you catch my drift. For those who haven't gotten it yet I LOVE ME SOME WHITE MEN! That's right I dig the vanilla flavor, the white bread if you will. 


Now let me clarify, I have nothing against black men. I have found numerous black men to be handsome and decent however I have yet to be attracted (physically, sexually or in any other form) to a black guy. I have no trouble admitting this in public and as a result this has landed me in hot water multiple times. White girls laugh it off but black girls break out the armor and start preparing for war. You would think I'd just declared myself the next Messiah or something.
"Why are you so racist against your own people?" 
"What is wrong with you? Are you stupid?"
"What black people ain't good enough for you or something?" 

Woah girls! Put on the brakes. Time out. First off, in order, No.Nothing.No.That's not it at all. 
I have never thought of myself as above other black people and to imply that this is why I like white men is a ridiculous assertion completely baseless. I didn't just suddenly wake up and decide to like white guys, I've always felt like this. And while I struggle to explain the reasons behind my love of white men I can't shake the feeling that I shouldn't have to explain myself. But I'll try any way, right here.

I guess the most accurate way to explain it would be that the physical features that attract me to a guy are more likely to be found in a white men rather than in a black man. Caucasian facial features just seem more appealing to me and I am such a sucker for blue and green eyes. A guy flashing his blue peepers at me is the quickest way to get my ice cold heart to melt (I have long Ithaca winters to thank for the freezing state of my heart).  I love the combination of dark hair with light eyes and yes I love me some blonds as well. I can't help it. I literally go weak in the knees when these combos show up. Flash a picture of Ryan Reynolds and my heart will give the Cornell Pep Band's percussion section a run for it's money. Flash a picture of Taye Diggs and while I'll agree he's a handsome man, my pulse will probably be close to zero.
So sue me. Call me racist if you want. Honestly nothing anyone says will make me spontaneously change my mind. My very first crush was Carter Grayson the Red Lightspeed Power Ranger not that cowboy black dude who was Green Ranger. And even the cowboy was liking some of the white meat ie Ms. Fairweather the WHITE lead character in the show. Which brings me to a slight double standard, when a black man dates a white woman, black girls blame the white girl for "stealing/seducing a brother," but heaven forbid a black chica like me show any interest in a white man then I'm a "traitor" to the black race. 
-sigh-
So this is my life and these are the questions I always get about my choice in men. Forgive me for liking what I like but in the end I answer only to myself and not the rest of the world. So when it comes to sisters hating on me, all I have left to say is mind your own business and screw you!

March 10, 2011

SΣΣING GRΣΣK

Before I begin I must admit that I didn't do my research properly before coming to Cornell. As a result I had no idea how big the Greek community here was until I actually got here. When I say "Greek" I don't mean "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" Greek, I mean sorority/fraternity Greek. Cornell is kind of an anomaly when it comes to this.
In no other Ivy does the Greek system play such a pivotal role in college life (at least to my knowledge. I don't make it my business to nose around in other colleges since I have enough to think about here...PRELIMS!). Last time I checked at least 30% of Cornellians were Greek-affiliated. That's 1/3rd of all Cornell students were in a sorority or a fraternity. In any school that's a pretty hefty percentage. You can't walk around anywhere on campus without seeing frat letters printed on a sweatshirt or sorority letters printed on a tote bag. It is EVERYWHERE! Monday morning conversations usually go something like this
Girl 1: Oh my God! I had so much fun on Saturday.
Girl 2: Where did you go? Delta Chi or Chi Psi?
Girl 1: Both! It was great.
Girl 2: Oh I was at Delta Chi but I didn't see you.
Girl 1: That's because it was crammed!
Girl 2: I know!
Girl 1: Haha.
*pause*
Girl 2: Did you finish the problem set?

What the above conversation (which I actually overheard a while back) demonstrates is a typical Cornellians ability to incorporate aspects of Greek life (parties etc.) within normal student life (problem sets...ewwwww). Honestly, we do it quite well. But going back to that 30% Greek statistic, just because those people are the ones going Greek it doesn't mean that they are the only ones involved in Greek life. Here GDIs are just as involved when it comes to parties and chillin' with the Greeks. For the untrained a GDI is code for God Damned Independent, someone who does not have Greek letters (not in a frat or a sorority). To be honest this is *Ithaca* and there's not much else to do, so we party it up Greek style. Being as isolated as we are probably plays a role in how important the frats and sororities on this campus are to student life. But for the most part we don't complain.

Granted many have just accepted that the frats and sororities essentially run this university. Looking at the Student Assembly many of it's members are Greek and many of the important/big name organizations are headed by or are in part run by Greeks. Some of the biggest benefactors of Cornell are Greek alums. While sometimes this can be a pain in the butt since Greeks of course tend to want to advance the Greek agenda, we have to remember once again that 30% of the students on this campus are Greek and therefore whatever happens in the student government etc. will affect them as a group the most. Does this mean we ignore the rest? No, duh, even though 30% is a big number 70% is still bigger (I can do math. WOOT!) For those 70% it is still important for their voices to be heard and we should not deny them that right, nor are there any plans to do so. Some have decided that the time for a war on Greek life is at hand (for reasons to be discussed later when I have found the right words with which to articulate them) but honestly folks, Cornell would not be Cornell without Greek life. To take that away would undo the fabric of Cornell society. Where would we be then?

But for now (and hopefully for a while yet) Cornell University in sunny Ithaca, New York* will continue to see Greek.

*Ithaca is only sunny for 2-3 months a year...we have not reached those months. I shall weep (and trudge through knee-high snow) until we do.