July 31, 2009

Reality Check:Fashion Edition

So I am sitting here watching an episode of What Not to Wear on TLC. This episode chronicles the transformation of a woman named Bailey who lost 60 lbs but kept wearing t-shirts and ill fitting jeans to hide herself from the world. At first I felt sorry for her but then I realized something. I realized that in some ways I am Bailey.

Sure I haven't lost 60 pounds recently actually I've gained quite a few (last week I found out that I moved up a jean size) but for some reason I have been hiding myself from the world. Now I am analyzing why this seems to be true. I don't think that I look horrible or disastrous but still I dress like Bailey. I am always in jeans. I own maybe ten pairs of jeans and not one pair fit properly. Some are a bit too big around the waist but tight everywhere else. Others are just too tight. The problem for me I guess is that I have never really taken the time to really take care of myself. Even at an age when I should be fully self involved and completely obsessed with what I look like, I don't care at all.

In the beginning I would say to myself "It's just about the way society forces us to see ourselves.It's all materialistic and chauvinistic and real women don't care so much about looks." Ha, now I know that's all an excuse. I guess years of wearing a uniform, and by years I mean my entire life, have numbed me of the need to take pride in what I look like. That could be one reason or it could also be that I am one of those girls who just doesn't care. Maybe I need Stacy and Clinton to come and talk some sense into me. I could just be moping about something that doesn't exist but then again my fashion sense is still evolving.

It could also be that in today's society I simply care too much. When I figure all of this out I'll let you know.
So goes yet another random musing

Annoyed and Confused

I have started to doubt President Barack Obama's skills as a leader.
That was hard to write and even harder to admit to myself, but it remains the truth as of right now. Only time will tell if these feelings of disappointment will subside. The reasons for my doubts are complex but valid.

Concerning the legislation that he wants Congress to pass, health care and climate change in particular-Just setting forward a list of preferences to Congress then telling them to work it out for themselves is like babysitting a bunch of toddlers, telling them I would like you to stay away from electrical appliances that might kill you as well as poisonous substances lying all around the room, then leaving them to fend for themselves. Translation-That's stupid and dangerous.Congress like children need firm guidance and should never be left alone to play by themselves as bad things tend to happen when adult supervision is lacking. As President, Barack Obama is the adult supervision, and simply setting forth guidelines and leaving the rest up to Fate is not a good idea.

The climate change bill has been watered down so much that it no longer makes sense to enact it. I simply hope that if and when that bill passes Congress, our dear President will use the full force of his veto pen. Our planet is getting sicker every day and all he can do is say "A bill would be nice huh?" (note: this is not an actual quote) C'mon Mr. President, you know as well as I do that in order for the rest of the world to respect the US it would help a lot if the leader of said country would step up to the plate once in a while and look powerful. Leaving something as important as this bill exposed to the horrors of Congress without your full supervision is not the greatest plan and is quite...well, i gotta say it...stupid.

The health care bill is a joke at this point and I would need the whole day to express all of my concerns about that particular bill. I am a teenager now and if a PROPER health care bill isn't put into effect to benefit me in the future...I WILL MOVE TO FRANCE!!!

So Mr.P do you think that you can show me that you are up for this job?
I suggest that you do that quickly as my patience will not last forever.

Oops...he did it again

Jude Law- great actor but best known for his foolin' ways...most notably his fooling around with his kids' nanny while engaged to the gorgeous Sienna Miller.

Now he's gone off and gotten another woman preggers with his fourth child. Word is that this latest baby mama is a model from Florida, Samantha Burke. Ah well, it's his life and he can live it however he wants. I shall not judge the Law (bad pun, I know).

The real reason I bring this matter up is because it got me thinking about life cycles. We are all familiar with the caterpillar to butterfly cycle but that is not what I am referring to. What I mean is the life cycle of relationships. Take the story of the doomed relationship between Mr. Law and Ms. Miller...

Boy meets girl, then boy and girl fall in love, boy proposes to girl, girl says yes, boy and girl make plans to marry...so far so normal but then...
Boy decides he can't keep it in his pants and decides to act upon crazy testosterone driven urges and cheats on fiancee with nanny and subsequently gets caught by his kids who tell their mom but she keeps quiet but the nanny blabs to a magazine blah blah blah blah etc. Yeah, that part ain't too typical for a happy couple huh?

Skip forward a year or two and what happens? In the case of Jude and Sienna they ultimately break up and move on with their lives, but I guess Sienna decided to get revenge by doing something similar. If you care to recall, Ms. Miller was recently linked to married father and actor Balthazar Getty. I certainly recall the photos of a very topless Sienna all over the very married Getty on a private yacht somewhere. This is where my idea of a cycle comes in. Could it be that Sienna thought the best way to get revenge on her cheating almost spouse was to turn another man into a cheater? Perhaps she was just going through a rebellious phase to prove to the world "Hey I can do this too!"

We will never know the true reasons behind the actions of the involved parties but we can have fun guessing.

July 30, 2009

Beer Letdown

Beer Summit Update

I just found out that contrary to earlier reports Professor Gates drank a Sam Adams Light instead of Red Stripe. Personally, I feel so cheated. Somebody get that man some real beer!!! (not that I know what beer tastes like...I really don't).

Quote for the day

"It's like a really bad Disney movie. The hockey mom, you know, 'oh, I'm just a hockey mom'... and she's facing down President Putin... It's totally absurd... it's a really terrifying possibility... I need to know if she really thinks that dinosaurs were here 4,000 years ago. I want to know that, I really do. Because she's gonna have the nuclear codes." - ―actor Matt Damon

I just found this online and thought it was so perfect.

The election is over but its shadow remains

Quick Thought

Why is it that as an immigrant I often seem to know more about this country than those who were born here?
Maybe they just take things for granted here so they don't bother to look thing up, or maybe they just forgot what they were taught in school.
Still it is quite unnerving to meet an American who doesn't know that there are nine Supreme Court justices or that the first Constitutional President of the United States was George Washington (not Abraham Lincoln as I have heard way more times than I care to remember).
I often give these people some slack and try not to embarrass them, but it gets harder every time.

That's my random thought for today.

The American Dream Is...what exactly?

"He's living the American Dream"
"She's as close to the American Dream as anyone I know"
"blah blah blah American Dream (insert name here)"
Everyone living in American has heard or even said these words at some point. I won't even attempt to count how many times I have heard the words 'American Dream' because I would never get an accurate count. But this brings me to a question I have asked myself many times but have never expressed openly until now...

What is the American Dream and how can you measure it?

What is the 'American Dream' made of? Can I customize it? Has it changed in recent years? And why should I bother go and achieve it? That first question has spawned so many more, even more than I have shown here. It would be greatly appreciated if someone,anyone, could answer any of these questions. But before anyone answers, please be warned that any answer containing the words 'white picket fence' will not be accepted.

Too much noise...not enough filters

Something else that annoys me
Flip-floppers
Make up your mind people
Choose one side or the other
Straddling the middle only proves that you are a coward
"He has a deep seeded hatred for white people" then ten seconds later "I'm not saying he doesn't like white people" constitutes as straddling.......GLENN BECK!!!!!!!
I am starting to think that the reason his last name is Beck is because he drinks a little too much of the beer by the same name once in a while
**Disclaimer- the author does not accuse Mr. Glenn Beck of being an alcoholic simply of being a moronic scumbag
****Disclaimer for the Disclaimer-The term 'moronic scumbag' is used in this context as a kind of term of *gag* endearment *super gag*

Hopefully he can grow a pair...here's to wishful thinking....................

Gates Gates and more Gates

The point-This was not an incident of racial profiling, simply a good cop who did a bad thing.
Sgt. Crowley of the Cambridge Police Department made what is known as a bad arrest. For everyone to try to make this a bigger deal than it really is, is despicable and completely unwarranted (pun totally intended). Professor Gates should not have been arrested-fact. Sgt. Crowley should apologize for the arrest-fact. This is a case of racial profiling-fiction. I personally see nothing in this case that would suggest that Sgt. Crowley arrest Gates based on the color of his skin.

The reason this has become a case about racial tensions in America is because both sides of the argument are pig-headed and refuse to acknowledge their wrongdoing in the matter. Prof. Gates should not have instantly made this about race when there was no evidence to support his theory. He may have felt that he was being targeted but as many African-Americans often do, he jumped to conclusions about the black/white issue.

Many Black Americans blame their issues(social, economic and political) on the oppression of the black man by the white man. What many don't realize is that by playing the blame game, they are actually bringing themselves down. I don't deny that America has a serious issue regarding race,but to use this particular case to start a dialogue on race is completely inappropriate as "Crowley vs. Gates" is nothing more than a sad misunderstanding.
This mugshot should not have occurred but it did. What both parties need to do know is try to move on from accusations and blaming. The "beer summit" that President Obama has organized is, in my opinion, overkill and simply a way for him to 'make up' for his initial statements concerning the matter which were not politically savvy. Sorry Mr. President but I gotta call you out on this one.

Side note-As a Jamaican I am very pleased with reports that Prof. Gates will be drinking Red Stripe during this 'summit.' ONE LOVE!!!!!!

July 29, 2009

What Europe taught me

I have already spoken about a recent trip to Europe. My family and friends also know about my abnormal fondness for certain European countries namely : Germany, France,The Netherlands, Scandinavia, and basically the rest of western Europe. The reason for this 'fondness' is simple, Europeans seem to have a different approach to life than Americans. I admire the Europeans for different reasons.The Germans are known for their efficiency, the Dutch are known for (other than beer and *cough**cough* well you know) their creative and inventive thinking,the Scandinavians are great at adapting to their environments as well as being eco-friendly. That brings me to the French.They are often given a bad reputation for being rude and unfriendly but to be fair, as I discovered, that isn't always the case. Before going to Paris for a few days on my school trip, I was told by many globetrotters that the French,particularly the Parisians, would be quite rude.Furthermore I was informed that my American accented English would not be an asset to me as the French seemed to have a thing against Americans. But I did not find this to be true at all. In fact I fell in love with the city as well as the people who call it home.

The most important thing I learned was not to rely on the preconceptions put in my head by other people as they turned out not to be accurate. The Parisians I met were very friendly and more than happy to help me with any problems I had. I found that the best way to keep things cool with the French was to speak to them in their own language. As mentioned before, mon Français est très mauvais (my French is very bad...I think) but a quick course on the way from Madrid to Paris by overnight train helped a bit, as did our tour guide who spoke fluent French (among many languages). I picked up a few basics and that turned out to be just enough.

My very first day in Paris I had to order breakfast at a crepe stand near the Pantheon. So very politely I said "Bonjour monsieur. Je voudrais un crepe avec le nutella et les fraises." My accent was off but hey it did the job (by the way that means "Hello sir. I would like a crepe with nutella and strawberries." It was very delicious.) The response I got was "Very good, very good. That will be €3.50." He spoke English but he was very glad to hear me (attempt to) speak French. Apparently I did such a good job that some schoolmates who were on line with me started asking me how to say certain things in French...I couldn't help them much.

This first day in Paris taught me that the quickest way to the hearts of the locals was to speak,or attempt to speak, their language. I never had a problem (with a local) during my entire trip because in both countries (Spain and France) I always started off the conversation in their native tongue and hoped to switch over to English if possible (Spanish wasn't too bad as I studied it in school...French...different story). So my advice to travelers everywhere is to try to learn the basics of the language before you go.The extra effort will be worthwhile.

Reality Show Fever

Here's something I didn't put on my list of stuff that frustrate me, reality shows.
I am so sick of them. Just how many shows can you have about fashion and dancing etc. Every year we are inundated with more and more ideas for 'reality shows' which for the most part never reflect any sense of reality whatsoever. I have just about reached my boiling point with these people. How can we stay interested when everything becomes a joke. I feel that we are all being taken for a ride and we just say "Oh, whatever. That's cool with me," when actually we don't care for it at all.It is time for everyone, Americans especially, to say enough is enough,set us free from this mess.
Reality shows make a mockery of our lives and we simply allow them to. I will admit that I do have my own selection of reality shows that I watch but to be honest I simply watch them to make me feel better about my own problems.I have had more than my fill of these disasters. There are more important things in the world than watching a bunch of horrible people spend a few weeks together in a house and do terrible things to each other. In the amount of time we spend watching these shows we could be finding cures for cancer or alleviating world hunger.
It is my firm belief that shows of this nature deprive our brain cells of oxygen. Our poor neurons are dying with every minute of 'reality' TV that is produced. Soon we will all be reduced to unrecognizable blob of matter just moping around the planet.
Attention World: It is time to break the umbilical cord from 'reality' and enter the light of true reality.
Maybe we watch these shows to escape from the real world (no pun intended) but this practice is dangerous and causes us to forget what the world is really like.
Let's be honest with ourselves for once...maybe that will be enough reality for a few years.

Frustrated and Grossed Out

I've focusing on politics on this blog and that isn't fair to me.I created this blog as a way to express my frustrations with the society that I live in.So,in honor of that frustration I have created a list of things that really,really annoy me. It is as follows (in no particular order) with reasons attached:
1. Guys who call me shorty- My name isn't shorty and if you wanna get to know me then attempt to learn my name before you get friendly
2. Guys who wear baggy pants- I do not need to know what color your boxers are as well as what size you wear and what brand it is, so please guys pull up your pants
3. Girls who change for guys- As a recent high school graduate I assure you that I have seen many examples of this. My friends have done some crazy things for guys because they felt they had to.This may be the reason for my current boyfriendless state. I absolutely refuse to do anything for a guy that I don't wanna do. So give me a break girls and learn to kick your guy in the balls when he asks you to do something you don't wanna do,K?
4.People who talk too loudly on public transportation- I don't need to know your business and most of the time I get off the bus or train with a headache
5.People who ask stereotypical questions about Jamaicans- As a native of the beautiful island I find these questions highly offensive. Perfect example in April I was returning from a school trip to Europe and on the flight from Charles de Gaulle airport,Paris to Heathrow,London, a classmate (upon seeing my passport which is a different color) asked me "Um, don't be offended but are you,like, an illegal immigrant?" Needless to say I was shocked and annoyed. I was also once asked in 6th grade if I knew any drug dealers as well as if I grew up in the ghetto. The answer to all three questions is NO!!!!!!!
6.Tourists who make no attempt to learn the basics of the language of the country they're visiting- During the aforementioned trip to Europe I saw an American woman screaming at a Frenchman in English, apparently thinking that he would understand her better that way. My French sucks but at least I tried as did my friends.
7.People who think rock and metal are the devil's music- In that case I am in the devils legion as I love rock and certain types of metal.I've actually had people tell me that Satan is dragging me to hell with "his Godless music."Don't worry I go to church too.
8. Drivers who honk at me when I have the walk sign- If you didn't know before, this should be your clue that I live in New York City
9. Emergency vehicles who use their sirens to get through traffic but aren't going to any emergencies- again I live in NYC, it happens all the time
10. People who spit in public- EEEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWW...nuff said

That's it for now but I suspect more will be added

Obama +Racism = Birthers

I'll make this short but sweet
The only reason the Birthers exist is because they are using Obama's birth certificate as a stand in for their racist attitude toward him.These extreme right-wingers are uncomfortable with having a man of African descent as their President, so instead of admitting that they are racist they blow this whole thing out of proportion.
As a conspiracy theorist myself, I must say that these conspiracy nuts have truly failed to put the facts together (as any true theorist as myself would have).
Let's see how much longer this will go on...this will be interesting

July 28, 2009

When Ann Coutler Says Lou Dobbs is wrong I listen...



And with that ladies and gents, I declare that the world has gone mad
CAN WE PLEASE SHUT UP ABOUT THE BIRTHER ISSUE PEOPLE?!
If you wanna talk about Presidential candidates who weren't born in America how about looking at your own candidate...John McCain was born in Panama...last time I checked that wasn't in America while Hawaii was, hmmmm.........

Exciting (and Annoying) Times in Washington...and Wasilla

So it's been a while since I have written anything on here and for that I do apologize, but honestly I've been conflicted as to what I could write because so many things are happening at once. I can't seem to keep up with everything, but of course one thing has remained constant...our dear GOPPers are still stuck in the Stone Age (pre-Flintstones era).The first thing I have to talk about is of course (ex) Governor of Alaska Sarah Palin. I gotta get something outta my system first so bear with me...*screams with joy while running around like a child raised by wolves**stops to catch breath**resumes screaming with joy*...ok ok I'm done for the moment.Now folks let's get something straight SHE QUIT!!!!!! SHE DIDN'T STEP DOWN FOR THE SAKE OF ALASKA BECAUSE IF ANYONE SAYS THAT TO ME, NOT SO NICE WORDS WILL LEAVE MY LIPS!!!!!!!!!!!!! She quit plain and simple and I am glad for it because she did spare Alaska from anymore of her foolishness (at least while in office).The rambling speech she gave to announce her resignation is now on my most watched list on youtube, right next to that Miss America clip of that contestant from South Carolina babbling on and on incoherently. This happens to be ironic because Sarah Palin was a beauty pageant contestant herself (haha scholarship fund my butt...how can that stuff be a scholarship fund when some of those people can't formulate a proper sentence).Anyway, we all know that we are by no means rid of Mrs. Palin as she has plans for releasing a book (*snorts* I could write a better, more interesting book than her as I do have experience writing in the English language and not the strange dialect she speaks "ya know"). I have had my fill of this woman and my friends can tell you that at first I liked her, I really did. When John McCain announced her as his pick for VP I was proud because she was a woman who could reach the top of the political world. I was looking forward to having a female role model besides Condoleeza Rice (who also turned out to be a blubbering disappointment). Then...she opened her mouth and did the worst thing she could ever do...talk. As soon as she did that, ladies and gentlemen, she lost me and she lost me for good.I know that I'm a hopeless liberal but her first big speech was appreciated by none other than me.I didn't agree with the ideals she put forth but I thought hey at least she's articulate and I could relate to her on some level, and I loved her line about the difference between a pitbull and a hockey mom being lipstick.I LOVED IT!And I love love love love love hockey. But as soon as she was away from her speech writers it all went straight to hell (perhaps lower). I couldn't understand her reasoning and the attacks she unleashed on Barack Obama were detestable. Keep in mind that I was not originally for Barack Obama...I was Team Hillary all the way but then it was obvious she was not gonna be the Democratic candidate, so I decided to check out the guy from Illinois. I liked what he was saying and I believed him so I joined the crew. The things she said about him were very hypocritical and short-sighted and ultimately (I believe) led to the downfall of the McCain-Palin ticket. Since then she hasn't SHUT UP like some of us would like her to do (because let's face it she doesn't make sense 95% of the time and gives us sane people headaches quite often). She will be around for a while so we have to deal with it until America comes to its senses and realizes that she ain't all that hot. In fact she is a very confused woman.Wake up America and gulp the bitter coffee.