September 27, 2009

Hypocritical? I think YES!!!!

The university I attend claims to be concerned about sustainability and saving the environment. Granted this is a school that is heavily focused on agriculture. However, for a school so "concerned" with environmental issues why is it that I get fliers and posters in my mailbox almost everyday promoting one club or the other? Don't you guys know that it is a waste of paper and paper comes from the killing of trees? Don't feed me that crap about recycling and all because I don't see how its helping. The more you "recycle" the more paper ends up in my mailbox. So here's my letter to my university's President.

Dear President S,
Could you please stop talking about sustainability and show us what you are doing for real. Is that too much to ask? All of these sustainability meetings and all this hullabaloo over composting yet I can never see the big picture. Meanwhile as I am sitting here writing this I am FREEZING my butt off in my dorm room. Would it kill you to turn the thermostat up by a few degrees? Yea yea sustainability requires us to be prudent in our energy use. Don't worry I got that bit. But at the same time you gotta remember that we are in the north, in a place where winter comes early and right now I can feel ol' Jack Frost nipping at my toes...and my fingertips...in fact all over my body!!!! So if you don't mind a quick suggestion, why don't you switch out the paper announcements for e-announcements sent to our email (sure I'd send them to the spam folder anyway but still that's less paper going into my bin destined to be "recycled"), while turning up the thermostat in my VERY OLD DORM!!!! This way my dormmates and I can stop wearing sweaters and bathrobes to bed.

Sincerely,
Allie

P.S. Could you please tell the chefs in the dining halls that the alfredo sauce needs more garlic? We are supposed to have award winning dining on campus after all.

September 25, 2009

Quote of the Day

"Reader, suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress. But I repeat myself."
~Mark Twain

September 24, 2009

Routine

Yesterday I found myself in yet another routine. I hate being in the same cycle repeatedly but I just can't seem to stop.

For the time being I guess I'll just go with the flow...at least until this weekend. Maybe then I can find a decent party of some other social gathering. Frat parties are an option but I'm not a frat party gal...maybe hanging out with my friends...ha you know what? I think I need to study for my prelims...I'll get to that but for now I need a break from all the work and intensity that comes with attending college (this one in particular). Suddenly blogging isn't enough (sorry guys but I still love you) because that involves me sitting in my rather spacious dorm room typing...the same thing I do for writing five page papers (2 nights, 5 pages...barely).

If I find something fun I'll let you know

September 22, 2009

Bo Burnham

I have been a fan of Bo Burnham for almost two years, ever since I stumbled upon his videos on youtube and saw his Comedy Central Presents special. I also have a bit of a crush on him. Anyway, I find his style of comedy refreshing and well seriously cool.

Bo Burnham is completely and utterly politically incorrect. I love it. He says things that we all think but in a really funny way. I love Bo Burnham and his comedy so you can just imagine how excited I was when Bo performed here on campus last night (Spetember 21st). I bought my ticket as soon as they went on sale and waited anxiously for weeks. Finally last night at around 8 pm one of my dreams came true and I was able to cross something off my bucket list...I saw Bo Burnham live and even met him afterward.

I might post some videos from youtube of his performance on here later but for now the only thing left to say is that I am still hyper from last night (and the copious amounts fo sugar I have had since this morning has not helped my situation).

It's good to take a walk on the politically incorrect side every now and then. See how the other half lives.

September 21, 2009

my MUN speeches

Speech #1
given during Secondary Speaker speeches

Honorable Chair, fellow delegates,
The Islamic Republic of Pakistan remains steadfast in its belief that states have the right to protect themselves in regards to hostile situations. As such Pakistan has not signed the Non-Proliferation Treaty or the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty because of the possible restrictions that may be placed on our country while we attempt to safeguard our people and territories. Pakistan would like to reassure those assempbled that we take nuclear power and nuclear weapons very seriously. Pakistan handles its position as a nuclear armed state with all safeguards in place

Speech #2
given during Moderated Caucus on the topic of reducing nuclear weapons

The Islamic Republic of Pakistan recognizes the dangers of nuclear weapons but would like to remind the assembled body that Pakistan remains firm in its stance that Pakistan alone cannot be asked to reduce its stockpile. Pakistan remains a nuclear armed state in the interest of protecting its citizens.

Ok so there you go. Those were my first speeches as a member of Model UN. They were short because there were time restrictions. For the first speech the time limit was 45 seconds and the second was 30 seconds.The mini conference only lasted 2 hours so these short time limits had to be imposed in order for all procedures to be followed. This was only a practice conference so I think I did pretty well under the circumstances. It should also be noted that I wrote these speeches as other delegates were speaking so I did not walk in the room with wonderful speeches prepared.

Model UN (MUN)

I joined the Model UN chapter here on campus just to see what it was like. Some of my friends in high school participated in MUN and unfortunately I completely missed that train then. Now I have decided to find out about what I was missing. I have to admit that I am completely hooked. I had no idea that parliamentary procedure could be so thrilling. I also have to admit that part of the reason I joined MUN was to figure out exactly what the UN did and its role in the 21st century. I am still vague about that last bit but I can tell you that the process of getting to whatever role it plays is more exciting than it looks.
So far I have only participated in a mini-conference but I loved every minute of it. Ok well not every minute. At first I had no intention of making a speech but then I figured why not and I felt so much better afterward. The topic of the mini-conference was nuclear proliferation and I was the delegate for Pakistan. I'll be honest, I don't know as much about nuclear proliferation as I should as a supposedly concerned global citizen, but still I think that I did pretty well. I addressed the "General Assembly" twice and staunchly opposed any resolution that imposed sanctions on countries that did not sign the Nonproliferation Treaty but did allow the IAEA some access to inspect its nuclear weapons. This is because Pakistan has not ratified the Treaty (because India hasn't and India won't ratify the treaty until Pakistan has and so on and so forth) but does allow the IAEA some access to its stockpile.blah blah blah logistics. Maybe I'll post my speeches on here later and then maybe you can tell me what you think of them.

The point of this rather longwinded post is to say that I am liking Model UN so far and am looking forward to see where it will take me. This is my only major club for this semester but it looks like it will take up a lot of my time.

Until next time...

September 19, 2009

Getting a Headache

So Obama is gonna be doing a "full Ginsburg" this Sunday. A "full Ginsgurg" is when a guest appears on five Sunday political talk shows on the same day. The strategy is named after Monica Lewinsky's lawyer who did the same in 1999. Supposedly being invited to do five TV shows on Sunday is a big thing. I wouldn't really know.

Anyway my point is I am getting sick of seeing our President everywhere. I like him and I appreciate what he is trying to do for our country. But seriously, Mr.President I can't watch any news or TV show without your face showing up on the screen. There is a word for that...overexposure. I would have thougth that your handlers at the White House would have been more careful about this. It will only be a matter of time before all the networks are just like "Oh the President wants to make a speech again.That's his fortieth of the week. I say we skip covering it."

Yes health care is a major issue. But this media blitz that you are on cannot and will not make up for your slow response to the opposition's scare tactics. You and your friends at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. should have thought all about this before you decided to push health care reform. You should have learned from previous examples. Might I remind you of Clinton's attempt.

Still I wish our Prez the best in all his efforts. I unlike Rush Limbaugh do not want to see him fail.

September 18, 2009

Happy Birthday

The Internet turns 40 this year!

The first "message" was sent on September 2nd, 1969. That first nonsensical message paved the way for me to write this message to you!

Happy Birthday to the Internet!
Without you I would be at a loss for things to do when I am bored.
Thank you for Youtube, Facebook, eBaum's World and of course Blogger

to read more about how the internet began go to
http://fcmdsc.wordpress.com/2009/09/18/it%E2%80%99s-a-series-of-tubes/

The title of the post "It's a series of tubes" is taken from the now famous quote of now infamous former Alaska senator Ted Stevens. Stevens claimed that "the Internet...is a series of tubes"

RIP

On Monday September 14, 2009, one of my favorite actors of all time lost his battle with cancer.

"Patrick Swayze passed away peacefully today with family at his side after facing the challenges of his illness for the last 20 months."
---Swayze's publicist Annett Wolf

Patrick Swayze got me interested in ballroom dancing long before Dancing with the Stars came around. Patrick Swayze showed me how far true love would go, even crossing the Great Divide of Death. His movies opened a portal through which I escaped the dull monotony that was on occassion my life.

I knew he had terminal cancer. What I didn't know was how close he was to dying. I honestly thought that with the proper treatment he could have at least made it to the New Year. I wish he could have but unfortunately he did not.

I am just a fan. I did not know him nor did I ever meet him.However, as a fan I have to say, Patrick you and your movies helped me to see so much about life.Thanks for your work and for your time spent with us via the movie screen.

Nobody puts Baby in a corner

Comment allez-who?

The title? A reference to my new language of choice-French
the who in question? none other than the newest Bush administration sell out hoping to become a best seller, Matt Latimer.
The problem? No one has any idea who this guy is!
Everyone from the 'ye olde' administration is apparently doing doubletakes at the mention of his name.It's something like "Matt?Matt who?Latimer?There was a Matt Latimer there? Well hell there were a ton of 'Matts' so how the hell should I know one in particular?"

Latimer's book could be embarrassing to the former Prez but according to many from the Bush administration (ones we've heard about) most of it isn't true.

I shall wait to see what goodies and what nonsense this book delivers...not that I am spending any money to buy it (I won't pirate it either calm down). I'll wait for the reviews.haha.

The book is due for release on Tuesday September 22nd. Mark your calendars...or not.

September 16, 2009

More Kanye Drama

So we all know what Kanye did to Taylor Swift on the 2009 VMAs. If not click this link here.

Now I don't intend to turn this site into yet another celeb gossip blog (Perez Hilton made it work though) but I have to say one thing very quickly. Today it was reported that President Obama called Kanye West a "jackass" for his actions.

Yay the President showed some spine on an issue...too bad it was about an ill tempered dumbass pestering a teenage girl at an awards show. Um Mr. President, might I direct your newly found spine toward the looming issue of HEALTH CARE!!!!! There are also two wars and a horrible economy to deal with, soooooo if you wouldn't mind too much, I think it's time you got back to those.

I know that the comment was supposed to be off the record but given the fact that I am writing about it...it wasn't quite as "off the record" as one may think the phrase "off the record" would imply. So I'll cut him some slack there.

I sincerely hope that ABC fires those staffers for listening in...and Terry Moran has stooped to a new low. What has our media become?

September 14, 2009

Profound Stupidity at the VMAs

Last night I watched the MTV VMAs (Video Music Awards). Today that sentence is all I have to say to start a conversation.The reason? Simple, Kanye West's profound stupidity.

The very first award of the night was Best Female Video and the winner was Taylor Swift. The girls in my dorm cheered as Taylor Swift walked towards the stage to accept her award, her well deserved award. The video that won her the award "You Belong With Me" happens to be a favorite for all of those who were watching with me.

So Taylor starts talking about who she would like to thank blah blah blah, your standard thank yous. Cut to a shot of the audience and then all of a sudden, when the camera goes back to Taylor, Kanye West is standing next to her grabbing the mic. This is what he said, “Yo Taylor, I’m really happy for you, I’ll let you finish, but Beyoncé has one of the best videos of all time. One of the best videos of all time!”

The stunned silence that wound its way through the air in the TV room was quickly broken by boos and obscenities, I am not afraid to say that I joined in. The only thing that stopped the "Kanye Hatefest" was the preview of "New Moon" and of course staring at Taylor Lautner (again I am not ashamed to say I joined in on the staring...what? I am a straight girl. Can't a girl just look?) Point is, the entire evening was marred by the pretentiousness and the absurdness, and possible drunkenness, that caused such a horrific moment. As a girl who is around the same age as Ms. Swift, who turns 20 in December, I can say that standing on stage in front of millions of people is bad enough, but when an absolute ass ruins your moment and completely humiliates you in front of said millions of people, rest assured that will leave a mark.


Hats off to Taylor (Swift) because she handled herself with grace and elegance, especially given the fact that she had to perform five minutes later.

Another hats off to Beyonce for giving Taylor another chance to say wanted she wanted to say. Kudos to you Beyonce!

Dear Taylor,
We all love you and wish nothing but the best for you. We will continue to buy your albums and play your songs way too loud in our rooms.
Lots of love!

Dear Kanye,
You insolent little prick. Grow a pair! What would your mother say if she were around? I believe in free speech but when you are picking on a 19 year old newcomer who just won her first Moonman, I get the overwhelming urge to waterboard you! I hope that you will finally get the message now.What message? The message that you are a grown man acting like a fool. My 2 year old cousin has more sense than you! STOP IT NOW!!!!
Lots of anger

P.S. Kanye your last album sucked!

September 11, 2009

8 years later

Eight years ago I was in Jamaica. I had just gotten into the van that would take me to school. Over the radio I heard a breaking news story. I still remember the exact words of the female announcer "A commercial plane has just crashed into the World Trade Center in New York." I remember thinking, "Wow how did the pilot let that happen?" My next thoughts flew directly to a woman I had just met that same year on my first trip to New York. Her name was Felicia and she was my mom's boss. She had a two year old son that she loved very much and she was the happiest person I had ever known. I thought "Wait. World Trade Center. That's where Felicia works." I said out loud to my driver "Did she just say the World Trade Center?" He replied with a quick and wondering "Yes. She did." I answered his questioning look with "My mom knows someone who works there.She is on the 102nd floor. Did the lady say where the plane hit?" "No she didn't."

I spent the rest of my day wondering what had happened. I didn't know anything until I got home in the afternoon. I expected to see a quick announcement about the crash, watch video of firefighters in helicopters dousing the flames and eventually extinguishing them, and then move on to cartoons.

I wish that were what happened. I still wish that today, now as I am writing this. But we all know that is not what happened. Instead I got home, turned on the TV to see the footage of the planes hitting the towers, the fireballs that followed, people running, people jumping and finally the towers falling. I sat on my couch and I cried. I cried and cried and cried. I never let my grandmother see because I was a big girl and big girls didn't cry. I went to the bathroom and took a bath just because I didn't want my grandmother to see me cry. Suddenly I had hope that the woman that I had known for the entire summer before had run out of the building like others had. Young and foolish hope but still it was hope. I hung on to that hope until later that night my mother called from New York to say "She didn't make it out." I still remember my mother's voice. It was weak and her tone was one I had heard only twice before and both times were the result of a stunning and unexpected death. I knew what she was thinking even though she wouldn't say it. Felicia was dead.Her body had not yet been recovered but we both knew that she was dead. Still at nine years old I clung on to the hope that she was still breathing under all that rubble.The anchors on the news however quickly quelled that hope. "Not many people are likely to have survived the collapse." I sat and cried again, this time not caring who saw. I sang along to 'Amazing Grace' and tried to believe that God could save her.

Two weeks later, all hope was gone. My mother called to say that Felicia had been found. Miraculously her body hadn't been too damaged and was identified quickly. I took this to be a miracle as many others could not have the same done for them. I then learned another aspect of the story. My mother had in fact been talking to Felicia on the phone when it happened. My mother heard the plane hitting the building. She heard the screams. But she also heard how Felicia was calm and level headed. She heard how Felicia, ever the organized one, tried to come up with an escape route, even though she had no idea what exactly was going on. My mother, though not at the scene, was in her own way a witness and a victim of 9/11.

All these years later and on this date, my mother occasionally talks about Felicia. Mostly about the son she left behind. He still remembers his mother and he knows what she looks like. I haven't seen him in far too long but I know that he is well and thriving like any other almost-ten-year-old.

If he were ever to read this I would want him to know, your mother loved you more than the world itself and she always talked about you. She is watching over you now and I am sure she still cares for you. I miss you and love you as well. Stay strong and be well.

Joe Wilson

Was this the "Joe Six Pack" Palin was looking for? Well if so then we finally found him.

Wilson's now famous...rather infamous outburst during the President's speech to Congress two days ago was simple...just two words "you lie!" I watched, I heard the reactions and I reacted myself. Initially I was outraged. How dare he disrespect the President of the United States of America, the Leader of the Free World. HOW DARE HE!?!

Then I realized something...I DON'T CARE! Of course the President deserves respect from everyone but as someone who was raised in a country with a Parliamentary system that mirrored that of Great Britain, it happens all the time. Why is it that in America it is wrong for a man to voice his opinions (whether based on fact or not) in a room where 'freedom of speech' is supposed to be upheld?

So I say give Wilson a break. As many people on message boards have said, there are far worse cases of unruliness in other houses around the world. Taiwan and South Korea are both famous for their epic battles (I am exaggerating a bit...but not much) between opposing parties. India is also well known for verbal and physical assaults (there was an incident where chairs were used as weapons). As I said previously, the Parliament of the United Kingdom is the birthplace of disrespecting the country's leader. Sure it may not be dignified behavior but it is part of the democratic process, right? Plus, watching the Prime Minister give his weekly address to the Parliament is always fun, and whenever I can watch I do (C-SPAN has great coverage). My own home country, Jamaica, is known for its "hear hears" in agreement or "nays" in opposition. There have been cases of worse outbursts than that of Wilson's.

Give the guy a break. He apologized. And though I don't agree with Wilson's position or what he said I personally don't believe that he should have apologized at all.

I'm very very liberal so that's saying a lot. HA

September 7, 2009

I wish things were simpler

With all the conflicts raging in the world around us, am I the only one who wishes everyone would take a five minute breather and think about things? I am sure that I am not alone. I just wish that the Israelis and Palestinians would take some time to see that their differences are actually minor compared to their similarities. Of course the dispute over land is what we all see but in fact this is all originating from the age old fight of whose religion is right. Conflicts like that between Israel and the Arab world to me seem simple and complex at the same time. They all want the same thing but because of centuries of convolution and stubbornness neither side can see the solution staring them in the face. I know that I am not a peace negotiator but I am a teen and sometimes a teen's simplified view of things can be surprisingly effective. If only they could just work out a deal where Israel would give back the land it took in the 1967 war in exchange for Palestinian allowing Israelis to live on the land they are currently on (meaning retaining ownership of the houses already in existence).
I know that everything is far more complicated than my young (and frankly at the moment quite tired) mind could ever fathom. I also cannot understand why the US stands behind Israel even though Israel is in blatant violation of World Court rulings? The US has made some really dumb political decisions in the past but allowing Israel to continuously violate international law is one of the dumbest and this certainly hasn't helped the view of America in the Arab world. Again this bit is more complicated. I am aware of that sad but true fact.
So goes the musings of an increasingly frustrated teenage girl.

September 2, 2009

Ich bin ein Elitist

Kennedy had his "Ich bin ein Berliner" speech now I have my "Ich bin ein Elitist" speech.

So I don't really think of myself as elitist but in an earlier post I showed that perhaps I could be seen as an elitist by, ahem, some who, erm...how to put this nicely...have lost their bloody minds! Oh that came out better than I expected.Anyway here goes...

What is elitism? Why should I care about it? (i don't but still makes for a good intro, no?) To reach where I am now I have fought and struggled (and studied intensely...well not intensely but you get the picture) my way to the top. I have had my fears but I have overcome them (except my fears of bees, ghosts, monsters, the dark,really tall men...). I stand (or blog) before you today as proof of success (or of boredom, take your pick) and of resilience (again could be boredom). My determination has seen me through to my current position and now I can proudly say, I am an elitist. I am conscious of my place in an elite circle, those who have gone to an Ivy League university (and survived the first week), as well as my pride in belonging to this group. Ich bin ein elitist (hmmm I should check my German dictionary for the word elitist) and I am proud of it. I believe in the rule of a select group of people and those are the smart people. The dumb shall remain the dumb therefore it is in the best interest of the world for the smart people to stay as the ruling class...

I will add to this speech later on but for now that's my first draft. Tell me what you think. It isn't perfect but is any admission ever perfect? This may satisfy some so I am comfortable with that.

Disclaimer: the author is not in fact making any claims to belong to any particular group. The preceding speech was a follow-up to the post Am I Elitist? and is therefore a statement not based entirely based on the truth. Furthermore the author would like to make it clear that no form of disrespect was intended to the memory or family of the late President John Fitzgerald Kennedy and in fact has profound respect for him and his work. Though the preceding speech was modeled after his speech it was not intended to make fun of the original speech itself

Education, BAH, who cares?

Apparently a top level college education doesn't make you resistant to nonsense. I attend an Ivy League university (not sure how I got in but I'm in!) yet some of these brilliant students believe in the "Socialist health care" crap that the right wing has been feeding them. The conservative paper here on campus even has a picture of Hitler in scrubs to make its point!

Dear me! What has the world come to?! These are the leaders of tomorrow...supposedly...I see that I have much work to do. Time to roll up my sleeves (I wouldn't want to get them muddy from all the cleaning up I'm going to have to do here).

The Next Generation

And I ain't talking 'bout Star Trek!
So here in college I knew that I would be more exposed to the ins and outs of politics. Boy I had no idea. Of course their are the College Democrats and the College Republicans, but here on campus we also have the Libertarians and the Socialist party etc. There's probably more that I haven't seen or heard about yet.Both the conservatives and liberals have their own publications circulating on campus and so far I have only read the conservative paper. It seems to be a bit bitter but whatever. I am going to wait to read the other papers before I can make a full assessment of both sides. So far what I can say is that collegiate politics is very interesting.