Last night I watched the MTV VMAs (Video Music Awards). Today that sentence is all I have to say to start a conversation.The reason? Simple, Kanye West's profound stupidity.
The very first award of the night was Best Female Video and the winner was Taylor Swift. The girls in my dorm cheered as Taylor Swift walked towards the stage to accept her award, her well deserved award. The video that won her the award "You Belong With Me" happens to be a favorite for all of those who were watching with me.
So Taylor starts talking about who she would like to thank blah blah blah, your standard thank yous. Cut to a shot of the audience and then all of a sudden, when the camera goes back to Taylor, Kanye West is standing next to her grabbing the mic. This is what he said, “Yo Taylor, I’m really happy for you, I’ll let you finish, but BeyoncĂ© has one of the best videos of all time. One of the best videos of all time!”
The stunned silence that wound its way through the air in the TV room was quickly broken by boos and obscenities, I am not afraid to say that I joined in. The only thing that stopped the "Kanye Hatefest" was the preview of "New Moon" and of course staring at Taylor Lautner (again I am not ashamed to say I joined in on the staring...what? I am a straight girl. Can't a girl just look?) Point is, the entire evening was marred by the pretentiousness and the absurdness, and possible drunkenness, that caused such a horrific moment. As a girl who is around the same age as Ms. Swift, who turns 20 in December, I can say that standing on stage in front of millions of people is bad enough, but when an absolute ass ruins your moment and completely humiliates you in front of said millions of people, rest assured that will leave a mark.
Hats off to Taylor (Swift) because she handled herself with grace and elegance, especially given the fact that she had to perform five minutes later.
Another hats off to Beyonce for giving Taylor another chance to say wanted she wanted to say. Kudos to you Beyonce!
Dear Taylor,
We all love you and wish nothing but the best for you. We will continue to buy your albums and play your songs way too loud in our rooms.
Lots of love!
Dear Kanye,
You insolent little prick. Grow a pair! What would your mother say if she were around? I believe in free speech but when you are picking on a 19 year old newcomer who just won her first Moonman, I get the overwhelming urge to waterboard you! I hope that you will finally get the message now.What message? The message that you are a grown man acting like a fool. My 2 year old cousin has more sense than you! STOP IT NOW!!!!
Lots of anger
P.S. Kanye your last album sucked!
No comments:
Post a Comment