A politically incorrect girl with some authority issues rolling through the adventures of life.
December 25, 2009
Welcome Home Sean
If you don't know the story here' a quick recap. Five years ago Goldman's wife Bruna took there son Sean back to her homeland of Brazil for what was supposed to be a two week vacation. She decided not to come back. Bruna divorced David in Brazil and kept Sean against the wishes of his father, beginning a five year long fight for Sean's return. Last year Bruna died while delivering her daughter with her new husband, a Brazilian divorce attorney, leaving Sean in the custody of her husband and her family.
David has spent the last five years in and out of court and going between the US and Brazil in order to regain custody of his now nine year old son. This week he finally got the best Christmas present, his son. Yesterday they left Brazil on a plane chartered by NBC bound for Florida. Sean is finally back in the United States.
Personally I think that this outcome has been long overdue. There are so many men who neglect their children and act as if they don't exist (slight personal experience here) and here is a man who has stepped up to the plate and is willing to be the father that his son needs and at every turn he was denied his right to be a father by Bruna's family and second husband. In regards to Sean's step father, he had his own child so couldn't he imagine the pain that he must have been putting Davd through?
Remember the Golden Rule, do unto others as you would wish them to do to you.
All that is left to say is welcome home and Merry Christmas to you Sean. It has been long overdue.
December 16, 2009
Ode to Finals
You are not my Darcy
In fact you have caused my spiral
Downwards into melancholy
I am not the rhyming kind
But for you I will try
Oh how I resent you fully
Oh how you make me cry
Currently finishing up the last of my finals and I cannot wait to go home tomorrow. I want to be rid of this pest called finals!
Over and done soon YAY!!!!!
December 11, 2009
Creative Minds at Risk? TEDtalks 2006
December 10, 2009
Sanford Update
They are adults and will make the decision appropriate for their situation but in my opinion when a man publicly announces that the woman he cheated on you with is his "soul mate" then all bets are off for a reconciliation Markie.
You screwed up bad!!!!
Why my future husband must never cheat on me...
I've already talked about Jenny Sanford so now it's Elin Woods' turn.
The beautiful Swede in her Eternal Blondness may or may not have wrecked Tiger's ride with a 9 iron...possibly a 3 iron...but I don't know much about golf clubs. If the rumors are true and she did pound on the car then I say more power to her. While I do not promote domestic violence of ANY kind, I think it's time for men (and some women) to realize that when you cheat on your girl (or guy) you wound your partner in ways that can only be expressed through extreme rage and acts of vandalism. I have never been cheated on...still kinda too young for that bit...but I know plenty of people with experience. And as the child of a wrecked marriage due to a husband/father not being able to keep it in his pants I say you get what you ask for.
Specifically to the men who cheat I think you should take heed of the saying "Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned." Honestly that's more like a warning. Personally if you scorn me you risk the wrath of a thousand fiery swords of Hell. I think the same goes for many women.
While I am not surprised by Woods' cheating ways I am surprised that he didn't prepare himself for the firestorm that would follow the revelation of his (seemingly many) affairs. He had to know that the truth has a way of coming out eventually...or maybe he was that full of himself.
Side note- Why is everyone still surprised that men cheat? Ummmmm it happens all the time.
December 9, 2009
Bad Romance
Not a big fan of her's (mostly because she gets to snog Alexander Skarsgard in Paparazzi)but I love this song 'cause it's quirky and puts into words things you could never say out loud.
Sometimes I feel like this and I think that goes for most of us...I also appreciate the French towards the end :)
Political Wives and Why I love/hate them
I like Jenny Sanford. She is the first political wife I have seen who has not only stood up to her husband but outright beat him at his own game. Well honestly it is to be expected seeing that she is the one who ran his campaign for governor and basically won him the seat. This woman is much different from the average political wife. She doesn't play by the rules, in fact she completely ignores them and makes up her own as she goes along.
Jenny Sanford didn't take the BS her husband was feeding her and I appreciate that greatly.I am young and inexperienced in these matters but I know one thing for sure...no way would I be standing up next to my (soon-to-be ex)husband while he's admitting to an affair with another woman. In fact I don't think he would be standing either seeing as I probably would take an Elin Woods route and smack him upside the head with a golf club (my assessment of that situation coming later ). Anyway back to Jenny. She has a memoir coming out in May and I will probably buy it as she is currently my new political idol. I didn't buy Lizzie Edwards' book because of her BS about forgiving and moving on blah blah blah. Sweetie the way I see things, he screwed some blond bimbo with a camera who may or may not have given birth to his child. And personally I am going with may have until someone else provides me with solid irrefutable scientific proof that it ain't his kid. Since he can't make up for that (in my eyes anyway) it would probably be better to have him kicked out of the house for a few days then maybe let him back in 'cause you feel sorry for him.
Jenny Sanford is awesome. She stood her ground and told off her ungrateful bastard of a husband. So I congratulate you on your new freedom as well as wish you well in your political and personal future.
As for Mark...go hike the (real) Appalachian trail.
December 3, 2009
25 Years Later and still no Justice
Today also marks 25 years since the people of Bhopal have gone without justice and proper care. Two and a half decades ago a disaster began that continues today.
Union Carbide, as well as the company which recently took control of its assets Dow Chemicals, have refused to accept reponsibility for the disaster and have maintained that they have no desire to face the criminal charges brought against them by the Indian justice system. In addition the company has refused to clean up the site where the remains of the factory now stand and as a result of this the disaster has become exponentially worse as monsoon rains stir up the tons of toxic waste left at the site and pollute the population's drinking water.
The end result of all of this is an ongoing disaster affecting the people of Bhopal. If we cannot stop it many more thousands of innocent people will suffer or die all because of the greed and cowardice of the rich and powerful.
The company has an obligation to help these people because if it were not for its unending greed, which resulted in safety systems at the factory being turned off or left running on an absolute minimum, thousands of lives could have been saved that night.
It is time for Warren Anderson, CEO of Union Carbide at the time of the accident, Union Carbide and Dow Chemicals to learn the consequences of their actions. It is time for them to face the truth of what they have done...ruin thousands upon thousands of lives.
http://bhopal.net/
November 27, 2009
November 26, 2009
November 25, 2009
November 24, 2009
A Break
November 23, 2009
Bhopal Photos
Please view it here
Please be warned there are photos of people with deformities. If you find such things too graphic then please refrain from viewing this site.
I am trying to work on creating a group on campus dedicated to Bhopal. I would like to encourage any readers to do the same.
Confessional
Yes 'tis true. I the hypocrite slayer have come dangerously close to becoming one myself as well. How has this happened? Quite simply I have become, or at least I am attempting to become someone or something I would have castigated a while back. I have often said to family or friends that I always thought activists sometimes used unnecessary methods tto achieve their goals.
While this may be true for some I have come to the realization that I was being far too general in addition to not being able to perceive some of the challenges activists may face.
My recent conversion was in response to discovering the heartbreaking truth of Bhopal, India. I discovered that the citizens of this city as well as the activists who support them have tried other means to get what they need. They tried talking directly to the Union Carbide company and later to Dow Chemicals who took over Union Carbide in the early part of this decade. They were unseuccessful so they turned to the legal system. Warrants were issued for arrest but Warren Anderson, the CEO of Union Carbide at the time of the non-accident, refused to submit to the Indian legal system. Now retired in the Hamptons Anderson refuses to accept any responsibility for what he and his company did to the people of Bhopal.
In cases such as this one, the only other steps that can be taken are drastic ones. Other activists in support of the people of Bhopal have organized die-ins, Dow chemical boycotts and protests in front of Indian embassies and Dow headquarters. Now I know that for most activists they would rather take a more conventional approach before resorting to hard-core tactics.
I wish everyone good luck with this cause and I will do what I can to spread awareness of these horrible atrocities committed against the Bhopalis. Does anyone care to help me?
Health Care Bill Crisis?
I wish you would get yourselves together and get lovely Sen. Joe Lieberman in line (though he is supposedly Independent) and pass a comprehensive and productive health care bill. Your inability to get things done is astonishing and quite frankly worrying. It saddens me to say that the Republicans have more gusto than you. When they are in power they get their agenda pushed through quickly and without so much debate. Even when they aren't in power, such as now, they still command a lot of force. Where have you been Democrats? Pull your boots on and let's get cracking 'cause there's still a whole lot to do.
Love,
A Concerned American.
November 22, 2009
Re: Remembering Bhopal
It is even worse when such great tragedies are forgotten and justice is not served in accordance with what humanity feels as the right thing to do. For almost twenty-five years the people of Bhopal India have had to face the daily effects of that one day December 3, 1984 without the satisfaction of knowing that justice has been served in their honor.
It is truly a horrific truth of modern day life that profit often comes before the safety of the population and in the case of these people this thought trend led to the horrific deaths of tens of thousands and the suffering of hundreds of thousands more. Can we as human beings really continue with our lives knowing that such tragedies continue? Can we truly leave such horrors in the darkness?
I had previously heard of the Bhopal tragedy but I had not truly comprehended the vast complexities of the case until today when I came across a documentary on the disaster on YouTube. Now I feel that it is my duty to make as many people as possible aware of the horrors of that day and the horrors that still continue. December 3, 2009 will mark 25 years since the accident at the Union Carbide factory in Bhopal, the accident which wasn't really an accident. It was in fact an occurrance of human greed and negligence, an example of justice denied, an instance of human rights ignored. How much longer can we allow this to go unheeded? Not too much longer I hope, for the sake of the people of Bhopal.
http://www.bhopal.net/
Remembering Bhopal
I am sick of watching the news and feeling sorry for people in need. I have decided that I am going to try to do something about it. Today I was YouTube surfing (as usual) and came across a documentary concerning the Bhopal gas disaster that occurred on December 3, 1984 in the city of Bhopal, India. Up to 20,000 people were killed as a result of corporate negligence and greed. Hundreds of thousands still suffer to this day because of the events of that day.
I was outraged to discover that no one, in particular the then-CEO of Union Carbide which caused this disaster, was ever held accountable. As I write this I find myself shaking with anger at the suffering the people of Bhopal have had to contend with due to the gross negligence of a corporation looking to make an easy profit.
I ask of anyone who reads this to help me try to get some justice for the people of Bhopal.
this is the link to the site for International Campaign for Justice in Bhopal
http://bhopal.net/
Next month will mark the 25th anniversary of the tragedy...25 years is too long a time to wait for justice.
November 6, 2009
Quote of the Day
---Adlai Stevenson
Questions I would like to ask Congressman Barney Frank
2) What future do you see for the Democratic Party?
3) What do the recent gubernatorial losses for the Democrats mean?
4) Why wasn't the left wing prepared for the tactics of the right in response to the attempt for health care reform?
and a very important question
5) Why the hell can't the Democratic Party get its shit together?!
do I need to add anymore?
As Congressman Frank will be here on campus Sunday afternoon, I think I may ask him a few if not all of these questions.
October 22, 2009
The Rocker in me
And so I write this post to admit that I am not just any old rocker chick I am a hard rock type of gal.
My bands are:
Rammstein
Oomph!
Apocalyptica (Finnish men with cellos what's not to love!)
Eisbrecher
Deathstars (select songs)
Nightwish
Hang on I just noticed something...all of these bands are European!!!
I like American bands too, really I do but there is just something about the Euro bands. I guess its because they tend to get into more controversial topics without hesitation while a lot of American bands try to cater to their audiences and censor what they put into their music.
For example Rammstein has songs about cannibalism and sexual abuse. Their songs are usually based on a real story like that of Armin Meiwes "The Rotenburg Cannibal" who inspired the song Mein Teil. Why do I listen to these songs? Simple, they talk about real life without leaving out the horror that can be a part of it.
I have noticed that too many songs today are about a bubblegum pop fantasy world, not as bad as the 90s but still. Today's songs can be divided into the love songs, the booty songs,and the violent songs. By choosing to listen to songs that dare to go above and beyond these categories I believe that I am extending my horizons.
Actually I could just be me enamored with European culture in general. It's very different from American culture. More different than you would think.
October 21, 2009
I just don't care
As you can probably tell I am not a big fan of math. Plenty of people feel the same way. I am not a dunce but being in my current math class constantly makes me feel really really unbelievably dumb. Thank the god(s) above that I only have to deal with it for one semester, so I'll be rid of it in December. I just need a C *fingers crossed* and trust me I am not the kind of girl that loves getting Cs. I pray for a swift deliverance *looks to the heavens*
October 10, 2009
and the award goes to...
President Barack Hussein Obama, leader of the United States of America and the free world, has won a Nobel Peace Prize for his work on...what exactly?
We all love and adore him but seriously what has he done to deserve such a distinction? According to the head of the Norwegian Nobel Committee Thorbjoern Jagland (try saying that three times fast),
"The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided that the Nobel Peace Prize for 2009 is to be awarded to President Barack Obama for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples. The Committee has attached special importance to Obama's vision of and work for a world without nuclear weapons...For 108 years, the Norwegian Nobel Committee has sought to stimulate precisely that international policy and those attitudes for which Obama is now the world's leading spokesman. The Committee endorses Obama's appeal that 'Now is the time for all of us to take our share of responsibility for a global response to global challenges."
(taken from time.com URL-http://www.time.com/time/politics/article/0,8599,1929399,00.html?xid=rss-topstories)
That's all well and good Mr. Jagland (love your name by the way...I mean it) but I feel that our dear President should achieve something first before rewarding him. On the other hand you may be right in thinking that this could be more of a motivating factor for him to continue with his current policies...rather his current intention with his policies.
Bottom line- I love Obama but I don't think that he should have won this. It's too soon to judge if he is actually deserving of the award but I hope it serves as great motivation.I wish him the best of luck.
October 9, 2009
Home Sweet Home
I wasn't happy about the almost being run over part, I was happy about being home. New York City is not usually very high on the list of Friendliest Places on Earth but for me the craziness that comes with city life is natural and the inevitable rudeness is a glorious taste of reality.
This is my first time home in six weeks and I'll be gone in a few days so I have resolved to enjoy every minute of this escape. When that car came zooming around the corner with no indication of stopping I thought "It's great to be home," because the drivers on campus at my upstate college always yield to pedestrians. Yes it is a college campus and that's what drivers are supposed to do but coming from NYC I am just not used to that kind of behavior.Quite frankly it's alien to me. Trust me when I say that there is nothing else in the world that will wake you up quite like dodging traffic in the morning. In my seven years here in the city I have been nearly run over by cabs, buses and regular cars countless times. Let me make it clear that I am in no way suicidal but as any New Yorker can tell you it is just one of the facts of daily life here. You learn how to look both ways at the same time. You develop a sixth sense (nothing like the Bruce Willis movie though) and you learn to use it constantly.
All the same I love everything about this city: the sights, the feel, the smell...actually no not the smell as that can be rather disgusting...but the other stuff applies. I am not a born New Yorker but this is what I am now. I was destined to live in this city and it would take a lot for me to leave it completely behind. So while I have to go to college hundreds of miles away my mind and heart will remain in NYC.
October 2, 2009
Part 2
Dear President S,
I know that you probably don't want to see yet another letter from me at this point but I feel that it is importnant to address some other important issues. If you could please take the time out of your busy schedule to listen to the words of one of your students it would mean a lot. Now assuming that you have not yet crumpled this into a ball, or since we are online, sent this to the trash folder let us proceed. First on my agenda is the issue of prelims. Can we please change the name? I know you are trying to sound like a studious institution and all, and I respect that really I do but let's call these 'prelims' what they truly are, Soulless Humanless Inhumane Testing. This is only a suggestion of course. You do have the authority to call it whatever you wish just be aware that the student body recognizes the preceeding suggestion as the accurate title. Second topic is the swim requirement...
**I am deviating from the letter to explain the 'swim requirement.' My university requires its students to pass a swim test in order to graduate. I understand the importance of knowing how to swim but there are some factors that I think the administration has not taken the time to fully comprehend.
...I believe that to make it necessary to pass a swim test to get a diploma really unfair to some. First of all as a black woman with relaxed, or permed, hair do you understand the toll chlorine takes on my hair? No you don't do you? I'll admit that I am not a confident swimmer but that should be none of your business. If I want to know how to swim I'll take classes on my own time thanks. And staying on the subject of hair, having to have my hair professionally washed to make sure that no chlorine sticks around is really expensive here.
Moving on from my hair issues to more serious matters (though I consider my hair a very serious matter). Please understand that there are some people who have genuine water phobias. Some people just cannot handle being in or near a pool or deep water. Why do we need to penalize them for that? They can't help it. Unless you are paying for the professional help that they need to overcome their fears then please do not subject them to it. A better option would be to strongly recommend learning how to swim and give credits to those who participate in the swim classes (like you do now). I strongly believe that this should not be a requirement. In my opinion it is a personal matter that should not be regulated by an institution such as this.
Moving on from my criticisms of your administration I must say a big thank you for finally turning on the heat in my dorm. I can no longer complain about it being to cold in here and I have stopped wearing sweaters and bathrobes to bed. While I am quite certain that you did not read my previous letter (here's to hoping anyway) I am still going to claim full credit for this development. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Allie.
PS thanks for making progress on the alfredo sauce issue. Now there is a hint of garlic but still not nearly enough. Still progress is progress.
September 27, 2009
Hypocritical? I think YES!!!!
Dear President S,
Could you please stop talking about sustainability and show us what you are doing for real. Is that too much to ask? All of these sustainability meetings and all this hullabaloo over composting yet I can never see the big picture. Meanwhile as I am sitting here writing this I am FREEZING my butt off in my dorm room. Would it kill you to turn the thermostat up by a few degrees? Yea yea sustainability requires us to be prudent in our energy use. Don't worry I got that bit. But at the same time you gotta remember that we are in the north, in a place where winter comes early and right now I can feel ol' Jack Frost nipping at my toes...and my fingertips...in fact all over my body!!!! So if you don't mind a quick suggestion, why don't you switch out the paper announcements for e-announcements sent to our email (sure I'd send them to the spam folder anyway but still that's less paper going into my bin destined to be "recycled"), while turning up the thermostat in my VERY OLD DORM!!!! This way my dormmates and I can stop wearing sweaters and bathrobes to bed.
Sincerely,
Allie
P.S. Could you please tell the chefs in the dining halls that the alfredo sauce needs more garlic? We are supposed to have award winning dining on campus after all.
September 25, 2009
Quote of the Day
September 24, 2009
Routine
For the time being I guess I'll just go with the flow...at least until this weekend. Maybe then I can find a decent party of some other social gathering. Frat parties are an option but I'm not a frat party gal...maybe hanging out with my friends...ha you know what? I think I need to study for my prelims...I'll get to that but for now I need a break from all the work and intensity that comes with attending college (this one in particular). Suddenly blogging isn't enough (sorry guys but I still love you) because that involves me sitting in my rather spacious dorm room typing...the same thing I do for writing five page papers (2 nights, 5 pages...barely).
If I find something fun I'll let you know
September 22, 2009
Bo Burnham
Bo Burnham is completely and utterly politically incorrect. I love it. He says things that we all think but in a really funny way. I love Bo Burnham and his comedy so you can just imagine how excited I was when Bo performed here on campus last night (Spetember 21st). I bought my ticket as soon as they went on sale and waited anxiously for weeks. Finally last night at around 8 pm one of my dreams came true and I was able to cross something off my bucket list...I saw Bo Burnham live and even met him afterward.
I might post some videos from youtube of his performance on here later but for now the only thing left to say is that I am still hyper from last night (and the copious amounts fo sugar I have had since this morning has not helped my situation).
It's good to take a walk on the politically incorrect side every now and then. See how the other half lives.
September 21, 2009
my MUN speeches
given during Secondary Speaker speeches
Honorable Chair, fellow delegates,
The Islamic Republic of Pakistan remains steadfast in its belief that states have the right to protect themselves in regards to hostile situations. As such Pakistan has not signed the Non-Proliferation Treaty or the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty because of the possible restrictions that may be placed on our country while we attempt to safeguard our people and territories. Pakistan would like to reassure those assempbled that we take nuclear power and nuclear weapons very seriously. Pakistan handles its position as a nuclear armed state with all safeguards in place
Speech #2
given during Moderated Caucus on the topic of reducing nuclear weapons
The Islamic Republic of Pakistan recognizes the dangers of nuclear weapons but would like to remind the assembled body that Pakistan remains firm in its stance that Pakistan alone cannot be asked to reduce its stockpile. Pakistan remains a nuclear armed state in the interest of protecting its citizens.
Ok so there you go. Those were my first speeches as a member of Model UN. They were short because there were time restrictions. For the first speech the time limit was 45 seconds and the second was 30 seconds.The mini conference only lasted 2 hours so these short time limits had to be imposed in order for all procedures to be followed. This was only a practice conference so I think I did pretty well under the circumstances. It should also be noted that I wrote these speeches as other delegates were speaking so I did not walk in the room with wonderful speeches prepared.
Model UN (MUN)
So far I have only participated in a mini-conference but I loved every minute of it. Ok well not every minute. At first I had no intention of making a speech but then I figured why not and I felt so much better afterward. The topic of the mini-conference was nuclear proliferation and I was the delegate for Pakistan. I'll be honest, I don't know as much about nuclear proliferation as I should as a supposedly concerned global citizen, but still I think that I did pretty well. I addressed the "General Assembly" twice and staunchly opposed any resolution that imposed sanctions on countries that did not sign the Nonproliferation Treaty but did allow the IAEA some access to inspect its nuclear weapons. This is because Pakistan has not ratified the Treaty (because India hasn't and India won't ratify the treaty until Pakistan has and so on and so forth) but does allow the IAEA some access to its stockpile.blah blah blah logistics. Maybe I'll post my speeches on here later and then maybe you can tell me what you think of them.
The point of this rather longwinded post is to say that I am liking Model UN so far and am looking forward to see where it will take me. This is my only major club for this semester but it looks like it will take up a lot of my time.
Until next time...
September 19, 2009
Getting a Headache
Anyway my point is I am getting sick of seeing our President everywhere. I like him and I appreciate what he is trying to do for our country. But seriously, Mr.President I can't watch any news or TV show without your face showing up on the screen. There is a word for that...overexposure. I would have thougth that your handlers at the White House would have been more careful about this. It will only be a matter of time before all the networks are just like "Oh the President wants to make a speech again.That's his fortieth of the week. I say we skip covering it."
Yes health care is a major issue. But this media blitz that you are on cannot and will not make up for your slow response to the opposition's scare tactics. You and your friends at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. should have thought all about this before you decided to push health care reform. You should have learned from previous examples. Might I remind you of Clinton's attempt.
Still I wish our Prez the best in all his efforts. I unlike Rush Limbaugh do not want to see him fail.
September 18, 2009
Happy Birthday
The first "message" was sent on September 2nd, 1969. That first nonsensical message paved the way for me to write this message to you!
Happy Birthday to the Internet!
Without you I would be at a loss for things to do when I am bored.
Thank you for Youtube, Facebook, eBaum's World and of course Blogger
to read more about how the internet began go to
http://fcmdsc.wordpress.com/2009/09/18/it%E2%80%99s-a-series-of-tubes/
The title of the post "It's a series of tubes" is taken from the now famous quote of now infamous former Alaska senator Ted Stevens. Stevens claimed that "the Internet...is a series of tubes"
RIP
"Patrick Swayze passed away peacefully today with family at his side after facing the challenges of his illness for the last 20 months."
---Swayze's publicist Annett Wolf
Patrick Swayze got me interested in ballroom dancing long before Dancing with the Stars came around. Patrick Swayze showed me how far true love would go, even crossing the Great Divide of Death. His movies opened a portal through which I escaped the dull monotony that was on occassion my life.
I knew he had terminal cancer. What I didn't know was how close he was to dying. I honestly thought that with the proper treatment he could have at least made it to the New Year. I wish he could have but unfortunately he did not.
I am just a fan. I did not know him nor did I ever meet him.However, as a fan I have to say, Patrick you and your movies helped me to see so much about life.Thanks for your work and for your time spent with us via the movie screen.
Nobody puts Baby in a corner
Comment allez-who?
the who in question? none other than the newest Bush administration sell out hoping to become a best seller, Matt Latimer.
The problem? No one has any idea who this guy is!
Everyone from the 'ye olde' administration is apparently doing doubletakes at the mention of his name.It's something like "Matt?Matt who?Latimer?There was a Matt Latimer there? Well hell there were a ton of 'Matts' so how the hell should I know one in particular?"
Latimer's book could be embarrassing to the former Prez but according to many from the Bush administration (ones we've heard about) most of it isn't true.
I shall wait to see what goodies and what nonsense this book delivers...not that I am spending any money to buy it (I won't pirate it either calm down). I'll wait for the reviews.haha.
The book is due for release on Tuesday September 22nd. Mark your calendars...or not.
September 16, 2009
More Kanye Drama
Now I don't intend to turn this site into yet another celeb gossip blog (Perez Hilton made it work though) but I have to say one thing very quickly. Today it was reported that President Obama called Kanye West a "jackass" for his actions.
Yay the President showed some spine on an issue...too bad it was about an ill tempered dumbass pestering a teenage girl at an awards show. Um Mr. President, might I direct your newly found spine toward the looming issue of HEALTH CARE!!!!! There are also two wars and a horrible economy to deal with, soooooo if you wouldn't mind too much, I think it's time you got back to those.
I know that the comment was supposed to be off the record but given the fact that I am writing about it...it wasn't quite as "off the record" as one may think the phrase "off the record" would imply. So I'll cut him some slack there.
I sincerely hope that ABC fires those staffers for listening in...and Terry Moran has stooped to a new low. What has our media become?
September 14, 2009
Profound Stupidity at the VMAs
The very first award of the night was Best Female Video and the winner was Taylor Swift. The girls in my dorm cheered as Taylor Swift walked towards the stage to accept her award, her well deserved award. The video that won her the award "You Belong With Me" happens to be a favorite for all of those who were watching with me.
So Taylor starts talking about who she would like to thank blah blah blah, your standard thank yous. Cut to a shot of the audience and then all of a sudden, when the camera goes back to Taylor, Kanye West is standing next to her grabbing the mic. This is what he said, “Yo Taylor, I’m really happy for you, I’ll let you finish, but Beyoncé has one of the best videos of all time. One of the best videos of all time!”
The stunned silence that wound its way through the air in the TV room was quickly broken by boos and obscenities, I am not afraid to say that I joined in. The only thing that stopped the "Kanye Hatefest" was the preview of "New Moon" and of course staring at Taylor Lautner (again I am not ashamed to say I joined in on the staring...what? I am a straight girl. Can't a girl just look?) Point is, the entire evening was marred by the pretentiousness and the absurdness, and possible drunkenness, that caused such a horrific moment. As a girl who is around the same age as Ms. Swift, who turns 20 in December, I can say that standing on stage in front of millions of people is bad enough, but when an absolute ass ruins your moment and completely humiliates you in front of said millions of people, rest assured that will leave a mark.
Hats off to Taylor (Swift) because she handled herself with grace and elegance, especially given the fact that she had to perform five minutes later.
Another hats off to Beyonce for giving Taylor another chance to say wanted she wanted to say. Kudos to you Beyonce!
Dear Taylor,
We all love you and wish nothing but the best for you. We will continue to buy your albums and play your songs way too loud in our rooms.
Lots of love!
Dear Kanye,
You insolent little prick. Grow a pair! What would your mother say if she were around? I believe in free speech but when you are picking on a 19 year old newcomer who just won her first Moonman, I get the overwhelming urge to waterboard you! I hope that you will finally get the message now.What message? The message that you are a grown man acting like a fool. My 2 year old cousin has more sense than you! STOP IT NOW!!!!
Lots of anger
P.S. Kanye your last album sucked!
September 11, 2009
8 years later
I spent the rest of my day wondering what had happened. I didn't know anything until I got home in the afternoon. I expected to see a quick announcement about the crash, watch video of firefighters in helicopters dousing the flames and eventually extinguishing them, and then move on to cartoons.
I wish that were what happened. I still wish that today, now as I am writing this. But we all know that is not what happened. Instead I got home, turned on the TV to see the footage of the planes hitting the towers, the fireballs that followed, people running, people jumping and finally the towers falling. I sat on my couch and I cried. I cried and cried and cried. I never let my grandmother see because I was a big girl and big girls didn't cry. I went to the bathroom and took a bath just because I didn't want my grandmother to see me cry. Suddenly I had hope that the woman that I had known for the entire summer before had run out of the building like others had. Young and foolish hope but still it was hope. I hung on to that hope until later that night my mother called from New York to say "She didn't make it out." I still remember my mother's voice. It was weak and her tone was one I had heard only twice before and both times were the result of a stunning and unexpected death. I knew what she was thinking even though she wouldn't say it. Felicia was dead.Her body had not yet been recovered but we both knew that she was dead. Still at nine years old I clung on to the hope that she was still breathing under all that rubble.The anchors on the news however quickly quelled that hope. "Not many people are likely to have survived the collapse." I sat and cried again, this time not caring who saw. I sang along to 'Amazing Grace' and tried to believe that God could save her.
Two weeks later, all hope was gone. My mother called to say that Felicia had been found. Miraculously her body hadn't been too damaged and was identified quickly. I took this to be a miracle as many others could not have the same done for them. I then learned another aspect of the story. My mother had in fact been talking to Felicia on the phone when it happened. My mother heard the plane hitting the building. She heard the screams. But she also heard how Felicia was calm and level headed. She heard how Felicia, ever the organized one, tried to come up with an escape route, even though she had no idea what exactly was going on. My mother, though not at the scene, was in her own way a witness and a victim of 9/11.
All these years later and on this date, my mother occasionally talks about Felicia. Mostly about the son she left behind. He still remembers his mother and he knows what she looks like. I haven't seen him in far too long but I know that he is well and thriving like any other almost-ten-year-old.
If he were ever to read this I would want him to know, your mother loved you more than the world itself and she always talked about you. She is watching over you now and I am sure she still cares for you. I miss you and love you as well. Stay strong and be well.
Joe Wilson
Wilson's now famous...rather infamous outburst during the President's speech to Congress two days ago was simple...just two words "you lie!" I watched, I heard the reactions and I reacted myself. Initially I was outraged. How dare he disrespect the President of the United States of America, the Leader of the Free World. HOW DARE HE!?!
Then I realized something...I DON'T CARE! Of course the President deserves respect from everyone but as someone who was raised in a country with a Parliamentary system that mirrored that of Great Britain, it happens all the time. Why is it that in America it is wrong for a man to voice his opinions (whether based on fact or not) in a room where 'freedom of speech' is supposed to be upheld?
So I say give Wilson a break. As many people on message boards have said, there are far worse cases of unruliness in other houses around the world. Taiwan and South Korea are both famous for their epic battles (I am exaggerating a bit...but not much) between opposing parties. India is also well known for verbal and physical assaults (there was an incident where chairs were used as weapons). As I said previously, the Parliament of the United Kingdom is the birthplace of disrespecting the country's leader. Sure it may not be dignified behavior but it is part of the democratic process, right? Plus, watching the Prime Minister give his weekly address to the Parliament is always fun, and whenever I can watch I do (C-SPAN has great coverage). My own home country, Jamaica, is known for its "hear hears" in agreement or "nays" in opposition. There have been cases of worse outbursts than that of Wilson's.
Give the guy a break. He apologized. And though I don't agree with Wilson's position or what he said I personally don't believe that he should have apologized at all.
I'm very very liberal so that's saying a lot. HA
September 7, 2009
I wish things were simpler
I know that everything is far more complicated than my young (and frankly at the moment quite tired) mind could ever fathom. I also cannot understand why the US stands behind Israel even though Israel is in blatant violation of World Court rulings? The US has made some really dumb political decisions in the past but allowing Israel to continuously violate international law is one of the dumbest and this certainly hasn't helped the view of America in the Arab world. Again this bit is more complicated. I am aware of that sad but true fact.
So goes the musings of an increasingly frustrated teenage girl.
September 2, 2009
Ich bin ein Elitist
So I don't really think of myself as elitist but in an earlier post I showed that perhaps I could be seen as an elitist by, ahem, some who, erm...how to put this nicely...have lost their bloody minds! Oh that came out better than I expected.Anyway here goes...
What is elitism? Why should I care about it? (i don't but still makes for a good intro, no?) To reach where I am now I have fought and struggled (and studied intensely...well not intensely but you get the picture) my way to the top. I have had my fears but I have overcome them (except my fears of bees, ghosts, monsters, the dark,really tall men...). I stand (or blog) before you today as proof of success (or of boredom, take your pick) and of resilience (again could be boredom). My determination has seen me through to my current position and now I can proudly say, I am an elitist. I am conscious of my place in an elite circle, those who have gone to an Ivy League university (and survived the first week), as well as my pride in belonging to this group. Ich bin ein elitist (hmmm I should check my German dictionary for the word elitist) and I am proud of it. I believe in the rule of a select group of people and those are the smart people. The dumb shall remain the dumb therefore it is in the best interest of the world for the smart people to stay as the ruling class...
I will add to this speech later on but for now that's my first draft. Tell me what you think. It isn't perfect but is any admission ever perfect? This may satisfy some so I am comfortable with that.
Disclaimer: the author is not in fact making any claims to belong to any particular group. The preceding speech was a follow-up to the post Am I Elitist? and is therefore a statement not based entirely based on the truth. Furthermore the author would like to make it clear that no form of disrespect was intended to the memory or family of the late President John Fitzgerald Kennedy and in fact has profound respect for him and his work. Though the preceding speech was modeled after his speech it was not intended to make fun of the original speech itself
Education, BAH, who cares?
Dear me! What has the world come to?! These are the leaders of tomorrow...supposedly...I see that I have much work to do. Time to roll up my sleeves (I wouldn't want to get them muddy from all the cleaning up I'm going to have to do here).
The Next Generation
So here in college I knew that I would be more exposed to the ins and outs of politics. Boy I had no idea. Of course their are the College Democrats and the College Republicans, but here on campus we also have the Libertarians and the Socialist party etc. There's probably more that I haven't seen or heard about yet.Both the conservatives and liberals have their own publications circulating on campus and so far I have only read the conservative paper. It seems to be a bit bitter but whatever. I am going to wait to read the other papers before I can make a full assessment of both sides. So far what I can say is that collegiate politics is very interesting.
August 30, 2009
Miss America says: World Peace
August 28, 2009
Dear Senator Kennedy,
Love,
A grateful American
As stated before...
Unfortunately online news has its own limitations. One that I found annoying was having to go through sponsor offers in order to get to some stories. I've used the skip this ad button more times than I would like. There are other hassles but I think it's best to skip to the point I am trying to make here...
News has changed over the past few years. In my opinion it is for the better.There are still some issues but hopefully they'll be ironed out soon
I do apologize
August 26, 2009
I know what I said but...
Glenn Beck at it again-08/25/09
Disclaimer:those with sensitive stomachs or who get angry quite easily please look away now for you may get upset.
http://mediamatters.org/mmtv/200908250052
If you feel you have the time please go to colorofchange.org and sign the petition to get advertisers to drop this angry little man. I signed and I am glad I did
August 25, 2009
Can the fueding end?
August 19, 2009
Whiplash
August 16, 2009
Disappointment tastes horrible
August 11, 2009
Democrats Annoy me too
Nancy Pelosi
While I concede that Mrs. Pelosi is something of an idol to me, I have my own personal issues with her. As the Speaker of the House she is the highest ranking woman in American political history and with her position she should be able to make some pretty big changes or at least influence them. Here's one of my few problems with her, it's not a big problem but still.
According to Wikipedia-
In March 2009, the New York Post wrote that the conservative watchdog group Judicial Watch obtained emails sent by Pelosi's staff which requested that the United States Air Force (USAF) provide specific aircraft - a Boeing 757 - for Pelosi to use for taxpayer-funded travel. Pelosi responded that the policy was initiated by President Bush due to post-9/11 security concerns (Pelosi is second in line for presidential succession) and was initially provided for the previous Speaker, Dennis Hastert. The Sergeant at Arms requested, for security reasons, that the plane provided be capable of non-stop flight, requiring a larger aircraft. The Pentagon said "no one has rendered judgment" that Pelosi's use of aircraft "is excessive."
(stereotypical black behavior commencing in 5...4...3...2..1...)
OK WHAT? Why she need a bigger plane!?! Ain't no terrorist out there saying stuff like " Screw the President! Let's get Pelosi!!!!!" Plus, if she wanted a bigger plane she could have paid for it out of her own money 'cause she's like a multimillionaire. She is one of the richest members of Congress. In addition the whole argument of "Bush did it why can't I?" is seriously stupid.
Like I said...
Folks wake up and smell the change. Obama is our rightful President and as such should be allowed to do his job without having stupid people like you raise such dumb questions (again I say LIMBAUGH).
August 8, 2009
Israel and Palestinians-the injustice
http://www.ifamericansknew.org/
The Israeli-Palestinian conflict is one of the world’s major sources of instability. Americans are directly connected to this conflict, and increasingly imperiled by its devastation.
It is the goal of If Americans Knew to provide full and accurate information on this critical issue, and on our power – and duty – to bring a resolution.
Please click on any statistic for the source and more information.
Statistics Last Updated: February 23, 2009
Israeli and Palestinian Children Killed | |
123 Israeli children have been killed by Palestinians and 1,487 Palestinian children have been killed by Israelis since September 29, 2000. (View Sources & More Information) | |
Israelis and Palestinians Killed | |
1,072 Israelis and at least 6,348 Palestinians have been killed since September 29, 2000. (View Sources & More Information) | |
Israelis and Palestinians Injured | |
8,864 Israelis and 39,019 Palestinians have been injured since September 29, 2000. (View Sources & More Information) | |
Daily U.S. Military Aid to Israel and the Palestinians | |
During Fiscal Year 2009, the U.S. is providing Israel with at least $7.0 million per day in military aid and $0 in military aid to the Palestinians. (View Sources & More Information) | |
UN Resolutions Targeting Israel and the Palestinians | |
Israel has been targeted by at least 65 UN resolutions and the Palestinians have been targeted by none. (View Sources & More Information) | |
1 Israeli is being held prisoner by Palestinians, while 10,756 Palestinians are currently imprisoned by Israel. (View Sources & More Information) | |
0 Israeli homes have been demolished by Palestinians and 18,147 Palestinian homes have been demolished by Israel since 1967. (View Sources & More Information) | |
The Israeli unemployment rate is 7.3%, while the Palestinian unemployment is estimated at 23%. (View Sources & More Information) | |
Israel currently has 223 Jewish-only settlements and ‘outposts’ built on confiscated Palestinian land. Palestinians do not have any settlements on Israeli land. (View Sources & More Information) | |
The Destruction of Hope
-"There are 50 states? I thought there were 13."
-"The capital of New York is Manhattan."
-"George Bush was the 20th President of the United States."
-"Carolina is one state, they just say North and South Carolina to help figure out where they are."
-"I thought Cheney was President!"
Ok that last one can be forgiven because if you think about it, Cheney was President.
August 5, 2009
Michele Bachmann, the Future of the GOP?
note: the sound and picture are out of sync.
Why I may move to France
2. Three words - FREE HEALTH CARE!!!!!!!
3. The French are cool
4. I get the chance to protest freely 'cause the French know how to protest. I think they invented it.
5.Great clothes
6.Great perfume
7.Great food
8.I love the French attitude towards life
9. Great architecture
10.Europe in general rocks!
11. My favorite bands are more willing to do concerts in France than here in America
(Where's the American tour we were promised Rammstein!?!)
Am I Elitist?
| 1. | practice of or belief in rule by an elite. |
| 2. | consciousness of or pride in belonging to a select or favored group. |
Related forms:
Source- http://dictionary.reference.com
I take pride in being Jamaican.......OH MY GAWD!!!!!!!! I AM ELITIST.
That's what Republicans would call me 'cause I'm liberal, a Barack Obama supporter etc.
Here's what I got to say about that
AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
I need a breather hang on...AHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA...ok all better.
Notice that the term elitism originates from around the McCarthy era. Coincidence? I think NOT!!!
By the way, doesn't that make many conservatives elitist? Those who call liberals elitist are comparable to the pot calling the kettle black (So they aren't racist? haha). Conservatives are complete nutjobs who take pride in being divisive nutjobs (*cough*elitism*cough*). They also believe in "rule by an elite."Ahem, let me refer you to the C-Street scandal.
C-Street
What is C-Street and why are they elitist?
C-Street is a fundamentalist group based in Washington DC. They are actually called The Family but that name reminds me of the Manson Family, so let's stick to C-Street. C-Street members, who happen to be conservative members of Congress, are united in the belief that they, as the powerful of America, were appointed by God (Oh, so We the People are now We the Divine.Danke!) to lead the masses. Apparently, they shall save us and lead us because the rest of us (who elected them) are dummies and they are the only ones who are smart enough to do anything good.
That sounds ELITIST to me!!!!
How about you?
Also take note that hypocrisy seems to rule when it comes to C-Street. If you are at all intersted in finding out more about these wackos please use the links below.
http://www.lasvegassun.com/news/2009/jul/19/behind-closed-doors-c-street/
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/06/25/AR2009062504480.html
http://www.salon.com/news/feature/2009/07/21/c_street/
The Truth is out there...now go find it
From one conspiracy to another the right has leapfrogged into a new level of crazy...so much so that I wait patiently for the nightly news just to see what happens next.
August 2, 2009
Finding out about me
1. I can actually write down what I am thinking
2. I think way too much sometimes
3. My thoughts are very random but somehow make a little bit of sense (did that make sense?)
4. I am not as disorganized as I thought
5. I am far more liberal politically than I had previously thought
6. I have fallen out of love with Barack Obama (just a little bit)
7. Europe really did change my life
8. Thoughts that I usually dismiss, actually have some value when expressed aloud or in writing
My hero...Bill Maher
He care about bipartisanship or working with your enemies for a common goal
Instead he believes in exposing the political world for what it is.
Ever since I discovered his wonderfully refreshing show, I have looked forward to every Friday night for his very brash assessment of the world this week. The end of the show is my favorite because of his segment "New Rules." It is always funny and always true.
So to Bill- Don't change a thing though I think you would rather go off air than to bow to the winds of change.
July 31, 2009
Reality Check:Fashion Edition
Sure I haven't lost 60 pounds recently actually I've gained quite a few (last week I found out that I moved up a jean size) but for some reason I have been hiding myself from the world. Now I am analyzing why this seems to be true. I don't think that I look horrible or disastrous but still I dress like Bailey. I am always in jeans. I own maybe ten pairs of jeans and not one pair fit properly. Some are a bit too big around the waist but tight everywhere else. Others are just too tight. The problem for me I guess is that I have never really taken the time to really take care of myself. Even at an age when I should be fully self involved and completely obsessed with what I look like, I don't care at all.
In the beginning I would say to myself "It's just about the way society forces us to see ourselves.It's all materialistic and chauvinistic and real women don't care so much about looks." Ha, now I know that's all an excuse. I guess years of wearing a uniform, and by years I mean my entire life, have numbed me of the need to take pride in what I look like. That could be one reason or it could also be that I am one of those girls who just doesn't care. Maybe I need Stacy and Clinton to come and talk some sense into me. I could just be moping about something that doesn't exist but then again my fashion sense is still evolving.
It could also be that in today's society I simply care too much. When I figure all of this out I'll let you know.
So goes yet another random musing
Annoyed and Confused
That was hard to write and even harder to admit to myself, but it remains the truth as of right now. Only time will tell if these feelings of disappointment will subside. The reasons for my doubts are complex but valid.
Concerning the legislation that he wants Congress to pass, health care and climate change in particular-Just setting forward a list of preferences to Congress then telling them to work it out for themselves is like babysitting a bunch of toddlers, telling them I would like you to stay away from electrical appliances that might kill you as well as poisonous substances lying all around the room, then leaving them to fend for themselves. Translation-That's stupid and dangerous.Congress like children need firm guidance and should never be left alone to play by themselves as bad things tend to happen when adult supervision is lacking. As President, Barack Obama is the adult supervision, and simply setting forth guidelines and leaving the rest up to Fate is not a good idea.
The climate change bill has been watered down so much that it no longer makes sense to enact it. I simply hope that if and when that bill passes Congress, our dear President will use the full force of his veto pen. Our planet is getting sicker every day and all he can do is say "A bill would be nice huh?" (note: this is not an actual quote) C'mon Mr. President, you know as well as I do that in order for the rest of the world to respect the US it would help a lot if the leader of said country would step up to the plate once in a while and look powerful. Leaving something as important as this bill exposed to the horrors of Congress without your full supervision is not the greatest plan and is quite...well, i gotta say it...stupid.
The health care bill is a joke at this point and I would need the whole day to express all of my concerns about that particular bill. I am a teenager now and if a PROPER health care bill isn't put into effect to benefit me in the future...I WILL MOVE TO FRANCE!!!
So Mr.P do you think that you can show me that you are up for this job?
I suggest that you do that quickly as my patience will not last forever.
Oops...he did it again
Now he's gone off and gotten another woman preggers with his fourth child. Word is that this latest baby mama is a model from Florida, Samantha Burke. Ah well, it's his life and he can live it however he wants. I shall not judge the Law (bad pun, I know).
The real reason I bring this matter up is because it got me thinking about life cycles. We are all familiar with the caterpillar to butterfly cycle but that is not what I am referring to. What I mean is the life cycle of relationships. Take the story of the doomed relationship between Mr. Law and Ms. Miller...
Boy meets girl, then boy and girl fall in love, boy proposes to girl, girl says yes, boy and girl make plans to marry...so far so normal but then...
Boy decides he can't keep it in his pants and decides to act upon crazy testosterone driven urges and cheats on fiancee with nanny and subsequently gets caught by his kids who tell their mom but she keeps quiet but the nanny blabs to a magazine blah blah blah blah etc. Yeah, that part ain't too typical for a happy couple huh?
Skip forward a year or two and what happens? In the case of Jude and Sienna they ultimately break up and move on with their lives, but I guess Sienna decided to get revenge by doing something similar. If you care to recall, Ms. Miller was recently linked to married father and actor Balthazar Getty. I certainly recall the photos of a very topless Sienna all over the very married Getty on a private yacht somewhere. This is where my idea of a cycle comes in. Could it be that Sienna thought the best way to get revenge on her cheating almost spouse was to turn another man into a cheater? Perhaps she was just going through a rebellious phase to prove to the world "Hey I can do this too!"
We will never know the true reasons behind the actions of the involved parties but we can have fun guessing.
July 30, 2009
Beer Letdown
I just found out that contrary to earlier reports Professor Gates drank a Sam Adams Light instead of Red Stripe. Personally, I feel so cheated. Somebody get that man some real beer!!! (not that I know what beer tastes like...I really don't).
Quote for the day
I just found this online and thought it was so perfect.
The election is over but its shadow remains
Quick Thought
Maybe they just take things for granted here so they don't bother to look thing up, or maybe they just forgot what they were taught in school.
Still it is quite unnerving to meet an American who doesn't know that there are nine Supreme Court justices or that the first Constitutional President of the United States was George Washington (not Abraham Lincoln as I have heard way more times than I care to remember).
I often give these people some slack and try not to embarrass them, but it gets harder every time.
That's my random thought for today.
The American Dream Is...what exactly?
"She's as close to the American Dream as anyone I know"
"blah blah blah American Dream (insert name here)"
Everyone living in American has heard or even said these words at some point. I won't even attempt to count how many times I have heard the words 'American Dream' because I would never get an accurate count. But this brings me to a question I have asked myself many times but have never expressed openly until now...
What is the American Dream and how can you measure it?
What is the 'American Dream' made of? Can I customize it? Has it changed in recent years? And why should I bother go and achieve it? That first question has spawned so many more, even more than I have shown here. It would be greatly appreciated if someone,anyone, could answer any of these questions. But before anyone answers, please be warned that any answer containing the words 'white picket fence' will not be accepted.
Too much noise...not enough filters
Flip-floppers
Make up your mind people
Choose one side or the other
Straddling the middle only proves that you are a coward
"He has a deep seeded hatred for white people" then ten seconds later "I'm not saying he doesn't like white people" constitutes as straddling.......GLENN BECK!!!!!!!
I am starting to think that the reason his last name is Beck is because he drinks a little too much of the beer by the same name once in a while
**Disclaimer- the author does not accuse Mr. Glenn Beck of being an alcoholic simply of being a moronic scumbag
****Disclaimer for the Disclaimer-The term 'moronic scumbag' is used in this context as a kind of term of *gag* endearment *super gag*
Hopefully he can grow a pair...here's to wishful thinking....................
Gates Gates and more Gates
Sgt. Crowley of the Cambridge Police Department made what is known as a bad arrest. For everyone to try to make this a bigger deal than it really is, is despicable and completely unwarranted (pun totally intended). Professor Gates should not have been arrested-fact. Sgt. Crowley should apologize for the arrest-fact. This is a case of racial profiling-fiction. I personally see nothing in this case that would suggest that Sgt. Crowley arrest Gates based on the color of his skin.
The reason this has become a case about racial tensions in America is because both sides of the argument are pig-headed and refuse to acknowledge their wrongdoing in the matter. Prof. Gates should not have instantly made this about race when there was no evidence to support his theory. He may have felt that he was being targeted but as many African-Americans often do, he jumped to conclusions about the black/white issue.
Many Black Americans blame their issues(social, economic and political) on the oppression of the black man by the white man. What many don't realize is that by playing the blame game, they are actually bringing themselves down. I don't deny that America has a serious issue regarding race,but to use this particular case to start a dialogue on race is completely inappropriate as "Crowley vs. Gates" is nothing more than a sad misunderstanding.
Side note-As a Jamaican I am very pleased with reports that Prof. Gates will be drinking Red Stripe during this 'summit.' ONE LOVE!!!!!!